$19.99 Apps? Could Be

KRAPPS

Bronze
Nov 10, 2008
KRAPPS.com
Rumor has it that Apple will be opening a premium $19.99 games section in the App Store. This section will only be limited to "large publishers".

Hmmm .... thinking EA Mobile's Need For Speed might be one of the first apps in this section?

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
Long Island, NY
If indeed true, I find this move interesting. I wonder if this is more fallout from the 99 cent app movement. If I'm a big time developer, I might be asking Apple how I compete against the onslaught of cheap apps. If I'm Apple, I want those premium developers and the way to do it might be this "Premium App Store".

Personally, I think it's a great idea, but the onus will shift back on the developers. I'll pony up $20 for an app, but it better be 20 times better than anything I can find at the dollar store.

It still doesn't help independents who might want to create that stellar, wide ranging (ie. more expensive) app.

Ezekiel2517

Bronze
Sep 20, 2007
i'll have no problem paying for $20 games as long as they have the quality to match the games on the ds/psp

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
Long Island, NY
EA's current offerings are not on par with the PSP. Madden 2010 on iPhone? If done right, that's a $20 app. Why hasn't EA developed that game or have they?

Gameloft offers Brother in Arms (app store link)...that appears to be a game with plenty of depth. That's only $5.99.

KRAPPS

Bronze
Nov 10, 2008
KRAPPS.com
It still doesn't help independents who might want to create that stellar, wide ranging (ie. more expensive) app.
Yeah, I'm scratching my head about the smaller indy developers. Take for example Appy Entertainment ... all who were previously with the giant Full Moon ... they are smaller players now, but shouldn't they be considered entry into the premium section ... this could get messy.

acosmichippo

Genius
Platinum
Sep 10, 2007
DC