3G Auto Detection

jalalawi

Member
Bronze
Apr 23, 2011
246
3
18
#1
Recently I am experiencing difficulties in connecting to the 3G network in some places but if I choose the 3G network manually it works fine which means that iPhone is not detecting the 3G automatically! Any reason for that?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#2
Try resetting your network settings.
 

jalalawi

Member
Bronze
Apr 23, 2011
246
3
18
#3
The setting is coming by default and it is only address with username & password.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#4
The setting is coming by default and it is only address with username & password.
3G doesn't require a password. Resetting the network settings should get it to start auto-connecting to the network.
 

jalalawi

Member
Bronze
Apr 23, 2011
246
3
18
#5
The think that the operator's staff they don't know exactly what has to be done as sometimes they are saying you have to type the username & pw and sometimes they are saying no need. If u reset the setting only the username & pw removed but the address not!
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#6
3G, 4G and LTE are all provided by your carrier. There is no user login or password. If you have an account, it is automatic. If you are getting No Service, you need to reset your network settings. This is done in the Settings app. Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings.

If you are referring to a WiFi network that is not auto-connecting, you need to either reset the network settings or forget the network and add it back in. To forget it, go into your WiFi settings and tap the "i" that is in a blue circle.
 

jalalawi

Member
Bronze
Apr 23, 2011
246
3
18
#7
I am now referring to 3G network and slowness in detecting it. I have reset the Cellular setting but not all settings
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#8
I am now referring to 3G network and slowness in detecting it. I have reset the Cellular setting but not all settings
Are you getting No Service or is it at staying on Edge?
 

jalalawi

Member
Bronze
Apr 23, 2011
246
3
18
#10
Just now I was with the operator and they gave me another address and they told me the previous one causing slowness!
 

jalalawi

Member
Bronze
Apr 23, 2011
246
3
18
#11
The same thing with the new address! Is their any chance that it is from the iPhone?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#12
The same thing with the new address! Is their any chance that it is from the iPhone?
Yes. Are you running the latest firmware? You could try resetting all settings or restoring.