3GS software unlock vs. factory unlock

Discussion in 'Jailbreak Archives' started by uly, Nov 7, 2009.

1. uly

uly Member
    Bronze

Hello folks. I'm looking to buy an iPhone 3GS that I plan to with multiple carriers. Of course, an unlocked phone is a must. I have a few questions that I haven't been able to find a clear answer to despite (or perhaps because) of the overwhelming information out there...

So, I know that there are software tools that would allow me to jailbreak and unlock any iPhone myself. Are these tools (e.g. the iPhone Dev Team tools) reliable enough that someone like me, who is generally technically competent but otherwise a complete beginner with iPhones, to use properly?

Secondly, is a software unlocked iPhone fully functional? Will it revert back to being locked with future firmware updates? Given that there are free unlocking tools, is there any advantage in buying a factory unlocked iPhone?

Basically, I'm trying to decide between buying just any iPhone online or buying a factory unlocked iPhone from Hong Kong or Taiwan at a higher price. But of course, these are just things that are good to know, too.

Many thanks in advance.

2. BrownGem

BrownGem Zealot
    Gold

I think if you are technically competent and always wait for info before upgrading firmware, should you choose to software unlock, you would do fine. Much help is also available on this forum. There are always immediate posts on this forum about how new firmwares affect software unlocks, on the day they are available. Read before you leap and you will save yourself some headaches on software unlocks. Factory unlock is less work so if you travel internationally it is convenient to not have to worry about compatible settings or changing anything to make the phone work. Dev team tools are quite reliable.

3. uly

uly Member
    Bronze

Thanks for your quick reply.