5s WiFi speed horrible

budala15

Member
Bronze
Nov 17, 2013
150
0
16
#1
I just got an upgraded NVG589 router/modem for my uVerse. My 5S get 2mb download, but my laptop gets 15mb. What gives? I used speedtest.net
 

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,895
2,058
113
Florida
#2
I just got an upgraded NVG589 router/modem for my uVerse. My 5S get 2mb download, but my laptop gets 15mb. What gives? I used speedtest.net
Try resetting network settings on the phone.
 

budala15

Member
Bronze
Nov 17, 2013
150
0
16
#3
Try resetting network settings on the phone.
Did that and it's still the same. My iPad Air has the same issue. It just happened today. We have uVerse internet and were given a new upgrades NVG589 Motorola router. It's on b/g/n on channel 1.
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#4
Did that and it's still the same. My iPad Air has the same issue. It just happened today. We have uVerse internet and were given a new upgrades NVG589 Motorola router. It's on b/g/n on channel 1.
Are your laptop and iPhone connecting to the same server with speedtest.net?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#6
iPhone > Settings app > WiFi > click the blue and white info button/circle on your network > DNS > change the number to 8.8.8.8
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#11
Did it save the DNS setting?

Try power cycling the router (unplug it for a couple minutes) and rebooting the phone. If that doesn't help, you'll probably need to make some adjustments to the router settings.
 

budala15

Member
Bronze
Nov 17, 2013
150
0
16
#12
Did it save the DNS setting?

Try power cycling the router (unplug it for a couple minutes) and rebooting the phone. If that doesn't help, you'll probably need to make some adjustments to the router settings.
Ok let me try that. I'll let you know.
 

budala15

Member
Bronze
Nov 17, 2013
150
0
16
#13
Did it save the DNS setting?

Try power cycling the router (unplug it for a couple minutes) and rebooting the phone. If that doesn't help, you'll probably need to make some adjustments to the router settings.
Tried it. Nothing.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#14
Tried it. Nothing.
I think the router settings will need to be adjusted. I'd Google the specific router and see if you can get some help on their forum. Also check if there is a firmware update available for it.