A question about Safari

whale_hunter

Bronze
Sep 11, 2007
I have only had my phone for a day and a half. That said, I have a question. I work in an area that is known for bad reception. It's kind of down and out of the way.
Still though, Safari seems to be working great... till it boots me. I was booted probably ten times in the first hour of use. I would be scrolling ( a forum like this) and boot.
My buddy suggested that I make sure I had the most up to date software, which I did not.
I downloaded the newest iTunes and haven't had a problem yet at home. haven't really done a ton of surfing because obviously I have high speed and don't really need to use my phone.

So is this something that has happened to others? Is there a chance that the update fixed the problem or could it possibly be my phone?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Sorry if this is wrong forum. I'm a newb.

dug1967

Sep 11, 2007
I assume by "boot".... you mean it would dump you back to the main screen (with the 12 app buttons).....

Well I have had my iPhone for about 6 weeks and this first started with mine about 3 weeks ago... First it was just in Safari and not often... I ignored it for a while then it sarting happening more and more often in Safari.... I looked around this forum and other internet sites and got the suggestions to "clear the Safari history and cookie" and "do a hard reset".... tried that and it didn't help....

Then over the next week or so other apps started doing the same thing... first it was Maps, then Stocks then finally iPod... and Safari did it almost constantly... I went to a Apple store and was told to "Restore" through iTunes....

That didn't help it either, I called Apple Tech support and told them what I stated above and they setup a repair ticket (with a free loaner for me) and according to an email I will have a repaired phone back tomorrow.... Hopefully it will never do it again....