Absinthe iPad 2 and Cydia won't open

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by snowtrooper1966, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    [​IMG]

    Loaded Cydia via Absinthe on the iPad 2 running 5.0.1
    Icon loaded, but won't open. Tap on it, looks like its loading but won't open.
    Power cycled, and did a hard reboot. No luck.
    Erased all content and restored from backup. Same deal.
    Looks like only option is to erase all content and set up as new to he rid of Cydia and try to run Absonthe again.
    Hoping someone here may have another option.
    I've already restored from backup 2x and I've had it less than 24 hours..... O_o

     
  2. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
  3. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    have you tried re running Absinthe....? and are you using the latest version...?
     
  4. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    I did try to rerun, but since it's already loaded and the initial restore did not get rid of it, I'm stuck unless I set up as new, I think.
    Good point about newest version, I'll have to check when I'm back home. probably not, it's saved on my PC desktop from a few days after initial release. Dunno what it wouldn't work, tho. It was flawless and quick w/both 4S's on 05.01.1
     
  5. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Curiouser and curiouser.
    Erased all content and settings, set up as new and the Cydia icon is still there....
     
  6. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    More oddities.
    Finally able to remove Cydia (root/Applications) using iPhone Browser on my PC:

    iPhoneBrowser.jpg


    Erased all content and settings.
    Set up as new.
    Ran latest Absinthe and get this:


    detected.jpg

    alreadyjailbroken.jpg


    iPad is working fine, just don't understand. Maybe I did not completeley remove it?
     
  7. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    You can also try reinstalling Cydia (as a .deb) put .deb file in Var>root>Media>Cydia>AutoInstall......then do a hard boot...;)

    If you have OpenSSH installed on iPad ..... installation via Terminal is possible....
     
  8. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    The .deb is a package file? Since technically I'm JB'd already I should be able to just install Cydia via command line?

    I'm not seeing a way to add anything via iPhoneBrowser, just delete.

    I do not have OpenSSH installed on iPad, was never able to launch or use Cydia on this device.

    My file structure seems a bit difrent than u described, var/root/library, no media in that chain:

    var.jpg



    Thanks for the help, BTW!
     
  9. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    The NEW Redsn0w jailbreak (0.9.10b8) may be your answer.... rerun jailbreak with Redsn0w as it now works on iPhone4s and iPad2....(IOS 5.0.1 only)
     
  10. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Damn!
    Just took PC to my tech.
    He's gonna jam a 500 GB secondary HD, just for iTunes and media. Also gonna upgrade the RAM by a few gigs.
    probably won't have it back till next week.....
     
  11. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Just got PC back, gonna give it a shot....
     
  12. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Damn....
    Not liking redsn0w either:

    976daf75.jpg

    8562fa28.jpg
     
  13. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    Saw this :
    Now on your iPhone 4S or iPad 2, go into Settings > General > Network, scroll down and go into VPN and toggle it ON. You should see ‘A configuration error occurred’ message, dismiss it by pressing OK. Let it do its thing, don’t be alarmed, at this point you’ll see an Apple logo on the screen and your device will reboot.


     
  14. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Context?
    Not able to do that at any point above....
     
  15. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    The new redsn0w 0.9.11b1 has just been released....if you have your SHSH blobs saved for 5.0.1 you could Restore to 5.1 then downgrade back to 5.0.1 and re Jailbreak...

     
  16. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Dunno if blobs are saved, just connected iPad 2 to tinyunbrella, which did not even recognize the device.....
     
  17. fijiman

    fijiman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    64
    Use redsn0w to check Cydia for any saved blobs. You should be able to check with tinyumbrella for any saved blobs on your computer.
     
  18. snowtrooper1966

    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    Tinyunbrella did not show any for the iPad 2.
    I will try redsn0w....
     

Share This Page