Any word on insurance for this bad boy?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

applefreak

Bronze
Jun 24, 2007
Winter Park FL
I've been carrying the $5 insurance from cingular for a couple years now after learning the hard way about replacing a nice phone (fell out of my pocket and into a sewer). It let's you cover any phone from loss or theft with a $50 deductible. But I wonder how that would apply to a $600 phone like this?

If I ever drop the iPhone I may need to cash that insurance policy in. Will there be special iPhone insurance? Anyone planning on this?

Platinum

Bronze
Jun 27, 2007
There will be no insurance offered through AT&T or Apple. If you want insurance it is best to check with your home owners insurance or your credit card company.

soloudinhere

Bronze
Jun 18, 2007
Applecare is not insurance. You can declare the iPhone on your homeowners insurance, but I don't recommend claiming it aganist it because most homeowner's policies have a deductible of at least $500 and you will pay for a enw iPhone about 10X over in increased premiums.

Your best bet is personal property insurance, such as the kind that would cover laptops. I pay $150/yr for $15,000 in coverage for all my various electronics and it also covers clothing, textbooks, etc. A $1000 policy should not cost you very much at all, and the deductible is $25 on my policy. I have always insured phones this way. it is almost always less than the $60 a year the phone company wants to charge me.

my stuff is insured through http://www.collegestudentinsurance.com/

applefreak

Bronze
Jun 24, 2007
Winter Park FL
Hm, no insurance availability is very hard to believe. This would be the first phone with AT&T and no insurance option. It will be interesting to revisit this topic after 6pm tomorrow. I'll be asking about this specifically.