App store apps not loading

Discussion in 'iPhone Apps and Games' started by frizz, May 6, 2009.

  1. frizz

    frizz New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering if anyone else has ran into this problem(bug), recently (two) days ago updated firmware in first gen iPhone to 2.2.1. Went to upgrade apps that I got from the app store and they're stuck. They have no name to them and they look like they're in the load stage with no fill in the load box, am I doing something wrong or just a weird glitch?
     
  2. Terry M.

    Terry M. Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Likes Received:
    84
    Happened to me once too. I left the phone alone for about an hour or so and they finally loaded. Someone on here told me to hook to iTunes and it should load them right away but I didn't try it yet.
     
  3. Donnybrooke

    Donnybrooke Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tonight I started having a weird problem. I was trying to get an app to open and it would immediately close. I thought it was the app and I deleted it and reinstalled it. When I did the same thing would happen. I then tried another app and it did the same thing. It seems all my apps do not open. the only ones that work are the ones that came on the phone. I did a complete restore and it still does this. What now?
     
  4. iNinja

    iNinja Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    20
    Are you talking about app store apps or jailbroken apps?
     
  5. Donnybrooke

    Donnybrooke Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    My phone is not jailbroken. These are all apps bought from the app store.
     
  6. iNinja

    iNinja Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ok, try and reset your phone. Hold down the home and power buttons until you see the phone reboot and you see the Apple logo. If that and a restore as a new device doesn't work, then book a genius appointment.
     
  7. Donnybrooke

    Donnybrooke Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3
    I did the restore as a new phone and it works, But is there a way to restore without having to install all the apps 1 by 1.
     
  8. MileHighRob

    MileHighRob Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you restore from a back up copy, you not have to reinstall the apps individually but you could possibly experience the same problem if your back up file was corrupt in the first place.
     
  9. Donnybrooke

    Donnybrooke Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Likes Received:
    3

    The backup copy has the same problem.
     
  10. MileHighRob

    MileHighRob Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1
    Then unfortunately there's no way to avoid downloading/installing 1 at a time that I know of.

    If this happens again and I were you, I'd try to delete the backup file, create a new one and then see if that works before going through a whole restore as new process. Often the back up files become corrupt rendering your apps useless.
     
  11. iNinja

    iNinja Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Likes Received:
    20
    You just set up your sync in iTunes to install all of your apps through your computer. You don't have to download and install each app everytime.
     
  12. dacocoprince

    dacocoprince Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    just download a new app...it will fix your problem....the phone can't verify your account this is why they wont load
     
  13. topcat84

    topcat84 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    25
    Several of my apps, CBS, AT&T, The Score are taking FOREVER to load. Is there any reason for this?
     
  14. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    947
    Might you have a weak wifi or cellular signal? I'm not having any of those issues. Is it app specific or all apps?
     
  15. topcat84

    topcat84 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    25

    No, WiFi seems to be fine and it's not all apps, just certain apps. Don't know why.
     
  16. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,437
    Are you jailbroken by any chance?
     
  17. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I've had issues lately with my wifi on my college campus and a few apps being slow, for example this forum. All I did was go on a different wifi for a while and then back on to mine and it's fine now. This may not help your situation, but thought i'd say it.
     
  18. topcat84

    topcat84 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    25
    No......I'm not jailbroken.
     
  19. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    947
    Have the apps in question always been slow to load, or is it a new thing?
     
  20. topcat84

    topcat84 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    25

    It seems to me that it all started with the latest update (IOS 7?)
     
Similar Threads
  1. insocal
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,623
  2. Bhay99
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    7,726
  3. DUMBODOGGY
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    908
Loading...

Share This Page