Apple News app works on WiFi only?

Discussion in 'iPhone Apps and Games' started by jawz, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. jawz

    jawz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Seriously? Did Apple really make the news app able to work only on wifi? Well that sucks.
     
  2. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    That is incorrect.

    Go to Settings > Cellular.

    Scroll down until you see "USE CELLULAR DATA FOR:" and then look at the list of apps. They will be in alphabetical order. Scroll down until you see "News" and make sure that switch is set to on. See screenshot immediately below.

    News to on.png
     
  3. jawz

    jawz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1445371954.429369.jpg

    I always get this stupid message when I'm on cellular. I never get it when I'm on wifi.
     
  4. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,241
    Okay, I can tell you I've never encountered that, but I do sympathize with you. I'm afraid I don't have a solution to offer at the moment.

    Is it only that channel (engadget) that doesn't work when on cellular? Or is absollutely everything in News unavailable?

    I found this article that may be of interest to you. Apparently it is a bug on iOS 9. To be honest, you may have to wait until iOS 9.1 comes out (towards the end of the month) to see if it gets fixed.
     
  5. jawz

    jawz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hope. All channels give me that message when I am on cellular. Weird. On wifi I have no issues.
     
  6. jawz

    jawz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will take a look at the article. Thanks.
     

Share This Page