Apps crashing

Zanthe

#apple
Gold
Aug 9, 2007
2,630
314
83
#1
Been having an issue where an app is working fine and all of a sudden when you click it it crashes back to the main screen.

When this happens what do people do? I ended up deleting the app and downloading it again and installing from the app store. But that was a pain in the ass as it was a stocks app and had to re-enter all the data.

What's the best way to trouble shoot this sort of problem?
 

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,881
2,051
113
Florida
#2
Rebooting or shutting down your device on a regular basis seems to help. Some apps aren't nice and will hog memory / resources and not let go when shut down. I will shut my I devices ( phone and pad ) off every couple of days. It seems to help.
 

engelke2010

Member
Bronze
Mar 29, 2010
110
2
18
#3
Will a respring help also? I don't want to reboot my iPad because of the tethered jb.
 

besweeet

Contributor
Silver
Jun 7, 2009
968
26
28
San Antonio, TX
briansweet.me
#4
Will a respring help also? I don't want to reboot my iPad because of the tethered jb.
Yes, respringing should also help. Also, don't forget to kill apps you don't use, and use SBSettings' "Free Memory" button in the Processes toggle.

Although, if it's that much of an issue, a restore would be best.
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#5
Yes, respringing should also help. Also, don't forget to kill apps you don't use, and use SBSettings' "Free Memory" button in the Processes toggle.

Although, if it's that much of an issue, a restore would be best.
I use the Remove BG SBSettings toggle, it's quicker and kills everything. Apart from Mail and Phone.
 

Zanthe

#apple
Gold
Aug 9, 2007
2,630
314
83
#6
The re-springing thing is only for JB devices, right?
 

Zanthe

#apple
Gold
Aug 9, 2007
2,630
314
83
#8
Correct! There's no way to respring stock.
So then restarting the unit is the best way to try and see if the app will stop crashing. Wish I would have done that before reinstalling the app and entering all that stuff back in! Oh well..it's working again so next time I'll try that first. (It's my wife's iPad).
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#9
The best way to stop things like this is to perform a Hard-Reset.

You can do this by holding down the power button and home button, together. Then when you see the White Apple logo, release both buttons. The phone will reboot and it should sort the problem.
 

Zanthe

#apple
Gold
Aug 9, 2007
2,630
314
83
#10
The best way to stop things like this is to perform a Hard-Reset.

You can do this by holding down the power button and home button, together. Then when you see the White Apple logo, release both buttons. The phone will reboot and it should sort the problem.
Roger that. I do it all the time with my iPhone but for some reason never thought about it for the iPad...duh.
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#11
You can do Hard-Resets on most iDevices.
 
Jan 11, 2011
17
0
0
#13
You simply do this holding the power button and home button at same time . Then White Apple logo appears then release both buttons.its really work try it.
 

li2327

Member
Bronze
Jun 17, 2009
104
1
18
www.myspace.com
#14
I noticed that my screen acts buggy when I'm typing and also when trying to select icons on the home screen. It selects the wrong items. It's not constant but sporadic. Would it be a good idea to do a hard reset at least once a day? I just got my 3GS a couple days ago. I really don't want to take it back if I really don't have to.


Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
 

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,881
2,051
113
Florida
#15
I noticed that my screen acts buggy when I'm typing and also when trying to select icons on the home screen. It selects the wrong items. It's not constant but sporadic. Would it be a good idea to do a hard reset at least once a day? I just got my 3GS a couple days ago. I really don't want to take it back if I really don't have to.
Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
In a very short answer... Yes
It can also start acting slow / buggy if you have slot of apps running in the background also. If not once a day, I power my phone off every 2-3 days.


Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
 

Isadora

New Member
Jan 7, 2011
17
0
1
#16
Yep works for me every time, thankfully!
 

engelke2010

Member
Bronze
Mar 29, 2010
110
2
18
#20
I have one app that crashes every time I first run it. What I end up doing is to close all other apps and clear memory with SBSettings. After that, the app runs fine.