Apps syncing with iPhone

futebol

Apr 8, 2007
I'm still learning about the iPhone but are there any apps besides iCal that the iPhone will work with on a mac? Is there any chance 3rd party developers will be able to build other software that syncs with the iPhone?

Kabeyun

Silver
Jan 10, 2007
Northeast US
iPhone will pull information from Address Book, iCal, iPhoto, and possibly iMovie. Regarding 3rd party apps, iPhone is a closed platform. We expect that widgets will be iPhone's apps and guess that Apple will eventually institute a testing and authorization program for third party developers. Browse the iPhone forum for more on this.

Welcome to EI.com!

-K

Last edited by a moderator:

salto99

May 26, 2007
sync question?

iPhone will pull information from Address Book, iCal, iPhoto, and possibly iMovie. Regarding 3rd party apps, iPhone is a closed platform. We expect that widgets will be iPhone's apps and guess that Apple will eventually institute a testing and authorization program for third party developers. Browse the iPhone forum for more on this.

Welcome to EI.com!

-K
Will the phone use bluetooth to do the sync?

Scientific American had an article on bluetooth security issues. It mentioned that if you were in range of someone wanting to hack into your phone they could get access to your data among other activities.

joe

Gold
May 5, 2007
Will the phone use bluetooth to do the sync?

Scientific American had an article on bluetooth security issues. It mentioned that if you were in range of someone wanting to hack into your phone they could get access to your data among other activities.
I'm not sure if the iPhone will allow syncing outside of its dock. But I really really hope it does. I used to sync my SE 610T with bluetooth and it was so nice. Didn't even need to take it out of my pocket. Same for the tethering. This should be so simple for Apple to do, syncing via bluetooth or wifi.

wot_fan

Silver
Mar 7, 2007
Chicagoland
web.mac.com