Apps won't update

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by brdmsd, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. brdmsd

    brdmsd Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    10
    My App Store indicated there are 12 apps needing to be updated. When I hit each individual app to update, the spinning wheel starts and then stops and the update bar appears again without updating. The same thing happens when I choose"update all". What can I do?
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
    Try rebooting.
     
  3. brdmsd

    brdmsd Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    10
    I rebooted and it still won't update
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
    Sign out of your Apple ID, reboot and then log back in.
     
  5. brdmsd

    brdmsd Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks. That fixed it
     
  6. brdmsd

    brdmsd Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    10
    I stand corrected it worked for 3 apps and the stopped updating. What now?
     
  7. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,242
    Just stating the obvious, but to be sure we’ve covered all our bases—is your signal (Wi-Fi or cellular) strong and solid?

    If you’re not sure, then if you’re doing this on Wi-Fi, try on cellular just to be sure that’s not the issue (remember it will cost you data from your monthly plan).
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
    The next step is to reset all settings through the Settings app. This is a common problem over the past couple weeks. If it ends up working most of the time, I would just wait for an iOS update.
     
  9. odedo1

    odedo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Likes Received:
    1
    Question: have you installed Apps from more then one Apple Account?
     
  10. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    944
    I haven't. But know a few who have. The problem there is keeping the apps updated. To do that, you have to switch accounts back and forth. It's not worth it IMO.
     
  11. Sanjeev

    Sanjeev Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Likes Received:
    4
    I want to ask here another question.... can I use my cellular data instead of my wifi data for updating large apps which are greater than 300mb. Heavy apps don't get updated on cellular data. Any suggestions?
     
  12. bballrob

    bballrob Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Likes Received:
    459
    Yes, I suggest you find a Wi-Fi network.
     
  13. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Do you have another device that you can use as a hotspot? That seems to work from what I've seen in some other forums.

    Or try downloading it, when it tells you it is over XXmb, do a soft reset and it 'should' start downloading it.
    https://discussions.apple.com/message/28961705#28961705
     
  14. Sanjeev

    Sanjeev Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks .... I don't have another device. Can you let me know what is soft reset?
     
  15. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    944
    A soft reset is simply powering the phone off by holding the power button, then slide to power off.
    I always do a hard reset with app update issues.
    7 Reset
    Hold the power/wake button and the volume down button at the same time until the Apple logo appears. Then release.
    older phones:
    Hold the top or side power/sleep button and the home button at the same time until the Apple logo appears, then release.
     
  16. RBNetEngr

    RBNetEngr Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    27
    Update them with iTunes. Download the apps to iTunes on your computer, and then sync your phone to the computer. It will update the apps that need to be updated.

    The only time I've experienced having an app not update is when the updated app will only run with an updated version of iOS, which is not currently on the phone.

    -rb
     
  17. odedo1

    odedo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Likes Received:
    1
    Had the same problem on iOS 10-10.2 now on 10.3.1 it's amazing, Apple have done an unbelievable job on 10.3 it reminds me of iOS 6 everything runs perfectly and fast no more waiting for the App Store to load up or upgrades not crashing any more.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  18. odedo1

    odedo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can also try hold the on/off button then when you see the slide to turn off let go and instead of sliding to turn off hold the Home button down without letting go till it takes you back to your home screen, this cleans up all the used catch in your device.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  19. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    944
    That clears RAM. Cache is different.
     
  20. odedo1

    odedo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Likes Received:
    1
    I guess you are right but I know there is a way to clean the catch on the Apple Store to, I just can't remember how.
    A search on google or better yet on YouTube will show how, that's how I found up about it but it was a long time ago and I haven't had a problem with the App Store upgrades so I haven't searched again.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
Similar Threads
  1. l.t.ech
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,822
  2. Iloveiphones
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,876
Loading...

Share This Page