AT&T hotspots

gmemon

Jul 7, 2007
Hello,

I am new to AT&T and iPhone, so this probably a pretty basic question. I realize that At&t does not have as many hotspots as tmobile. Will it be possible to use an AT&T hotspot with your iPhone without any additional cost or subscription?

Thanks

rj5620

Bronze
Jun 2, 2007
Would like to surf free at Mickey Dees

Will cost you $19.99 month for ATT wi-fi access, 8000 McDonalds's have this ATT wi-fi. Too bad as ATT cellular customers, we can't get a value for these hot spots. The listing below mentions that the 19.95 fee is for non ATT INTERNET customers. Unless you have ATT as your internet dial-up, broadband provider, you must pay the fee.

http://www.att.com/gen/general?pid=5949

MacFreak

Jul 5, 2007
Not really.. If you really have att account and only cost you about $2 buck for wifi..

AT&T News:
T&T has announced its intentions to open up its Wi-Fi hotspots to select broadband customers. The Associated Press reports that subscribers to the company’s Pro, Elite and FastAccess plans will soon be able to connect to any of the official hotspots for free, which number to about 10,000 across the US in locations such as airports, bookstores, restaurants and coffee shops. Subscribers with cheaper plans will be able to pay $2 per month for the same access, or $8 per day if they are non-subscribers. No reason for the discount has been given, but the move likely coincides with the launch of the iPhone, which depends heavily on Wi-Fi as a selling point.

Bluesy1

Bronze
Jul 1, 2007
Southern CA
I was at a Barnes & Noble bookstore and I was able to get free wifi. My iPhone automatically joined the signal. There were pamphlets from AT&T that read "Your World Without Wires: AT&T Wifi". Inside it describes their main hotspots including McDonalds, Barnes & Noble, Avis rental cars, and the UPS Store.

The pamphlet indicates it is a pay service but I was able to get on for free. Strange.

uPhone559

Bronze
Jul 18, 2007