AT&T Unlimited disappointment again

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by xman, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. xman

    xman Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    First they throttle my use cause I have the unlimited plan.

    Now I find out that my new iPhone 5 does FaceTime ONLY on wifi unless I change my plan.. DOESN'T WORK ON THE UNLIMITED PLAN. Can't see giving up unlimited for FaceTime.
     
  2. theorioles33

    theorioles33 Evangelist
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    136
    Agreed! I wouldn't either!
     
  3. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    i have to agree. this whole throttling thing s***s. what good is unltd data if takes you too much time to get things done and sometimes you can't even watch a youtube video without buffering. for me time is money i don't have that much time on this planet earth and for me to be waiting so long to get from point A to point B. it makes sense just to pay the few extra dlls and get excellent speeds all the time. money can be replaced time can't. so i pay extra to make sure my data runs at top levels.
    now if time is not an issue for you and you really must have unltd data i would go with sprint. atleast for now they are the ones who don't mess with there unltd data plans as much as others. for sprint to throttle you really have to do a ton of data.
     
  4. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    299
    Cellular businesss went from a "talk time" industry to a "data" industry... that's what it is.
     
  5. Sharunda

    Sharunda Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    So is this why I'm having so much trouble finding my Face Time icon like I used to see it? I just wanted to play around with it, but I can't find it on my iPhone 5. I see it on my iPad (3) but not on my iPhone 5.

    Do I have to be connected to WiFi to see the Face Time icon and use it? I thought I could at least see it and not use it. Is there a setting I don't have set up?
     
  6. Booyow1204

    Booyow1204 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Likes Received:
    40
    The FaceTime icon was removed apparently w/the last refresh. On the i5 There's an icon when you make a call to FaceTime once you connect the call. As well as going through your contacts you can also choose the button to FaceTime on the contact info screen.
     
  7. Sharunda

    Sharunda Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Okay. I thought I read something about the icon being removed. I figured I should have it in my Contacts, but I don't. I just looked under a name of a person who has an iPhone as well and there is no icon for Face Time available.
     
  8. fury

    fury Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    238
    This throttling is bananas.

    I get a few days of decent speed in the middle of the month (usually 15th-18th) but then I'm screwed, and everything goes back to dialup speeds. They even throttle EDGE. I mean, seriously. EDGE. As if you could get any faster than 200kbps to start with.

    I am itching like crazy for an unlocked iPhone 5. That, and for T-mobile to refarm the 1900 band.
     
  9. Booyow1204

    Booyow1204 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Likes Received:
    40
    If your on iOS 6 there should be a button on the very bottom of the info screen that should allow you to select FaceTime (given they have an iPhone that is compatible)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    Wow, I haven't even encountered this yet. Shows how much I care about FaceTime, LOL... ;)

    I just checked, by the way. My FaceTime button is where it always was... just like Booyow1204 indicated above.

    xman are you using > 5 GB/month? I believe you should only get throttled if you go over 5 GB, assuming you are making use of LTE.

    I may have read something about this 5GB limit applying to all iPhone 5 owners, even if they don't or can't use LTE, but I can't recall for sure. Was it Bennyboy who said that? Ben?
     
  11. VOLS34

    VOLS34 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Likes Received:
    73
    The 5GB should apply to all iPhone 5 owners & all "true" 4G AT&T phones.
     
  12. imutter

    imutter Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Likes Received:
    746
    I switched to the plan
    I pay the same as before and I probably could go down a plan (I see what the usage is for the next few month)
    I did for FT and because hubby was needing more data. He only had the $15 plan. I was not using my data, what I had the $45 tether plan I paid way more for what I used. Son had unlimited.
    S0 now we pay the same and have GB left over and got FT and Hotspots
     
  13. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    Thanks for clearing that up... I tagged Bennyboy 7 minutes ago and he has yet to reply :mad:
     
  14. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,468
    I plan on using 3G Unrestrictor for FaceTime on cellular as soon as the iPhone 5 jailbreak is out. It worked great on my 4 and 4S.
     
  15. Hinezy

    Hinezy Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    63
    Do you get a notification when throttling begins? I have unlimited but never noticed being throttled.


    Sent from my 32Gb iPhone 4S using iCafe app
     
  16. VOLS34

    VOLS34 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Likes Received:
    73
    I'm curious to see if it will work the same.
     
  17. VOLS34

    VOLS34 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Likes Received:
    73
    If you're with AT&T you can dial *DATA# & you will get a text with your current data usage for that billing cycle.
     
  18. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,468
    Yeah, you should get one of these as you're getting near the soft-cap, which is 5 GB on the iPhone 5.

    ATT-throttling-1.6GB.jpeg

    As long as the developer can update it for 6.x, it should work fine. I don't think AT&T can detect its usage.
     
  19. psylichon

    psylichon Genius
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Likes Received:
    751
    Unlimited data never truly existed, and it never truly will. The sooner you accept this reality, the happier you will be.
     
  20. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,442
    Yoda.jpg
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List

Share This Page