Backup & Restore will lose jailbreak...iOS 6.0.1?

Discussion in 'iPhone Unlock' started by jvannghi, Sep 23, 2013.

  1. jvannghi

    jvannghi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys,

    Please help, I'm going to Europe tomorrow and would like to get it unlocked before I leave.

    ATT just unlocked my phone. Instructions are to backup and restore.

    Question is, will I lose the jailbreak? Will Cydia apps have to be reinstalled?

    Is it just a matter of backing up and restoring or is it more complicated than that?

    Much appreciated!
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
  3. jvannghi

    jvannghi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your quick reply but I can't find that same seller and there's a bunch of UNLOCK codes on ebay...not sure which to get. Can you be more specific which one will work? Again, just to be clear, ATT unlocked it and it's IOS 6.0.1 and jailbroken on 4S.

    Thanks again!
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
    AT&T already unlocked it, so you don't need to buy an eBay unlock. All you need to do is apply the unlock. This is typically done by restoring, but you can bypass that since you are jailbroken.

    This is all you need to do:
    1. In Cydia add repo: Binger.com
    2. Install SAM
    3. Settings > SAM > Utilities > De-Activate iPhone (clear push)

    You'll now get a screen saying your phone is deactivated. Keep your AT&T SIM in your phone. Now open iTunes and connect your phone. Make sure you're running the latest version of iTunes. iTunes will reactivate the phone as unlocked and you'll get the congratulations message saying the phone is now unlocked.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • List
  5. jvannghi

    jvannghi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx again for the reply.

    Not sure if im missing something but when I try to add Binger.com, I get "could not be found…legacy repo…".

    Any other repo has it? Thx!
     
  6. jvannghi

    jvannghi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured it out, repo.bingner.com, thx!
     
  7. jvannghi

    jvannghi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked…thx very much for the quick replies!
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
    You're welcome. Have a fun trip to Europe. :)
     

Share This Page