Ballroom Dance anyone?

x999x

Gold
Aug 6, 2007
I've been dancing for a couple months now, and what started off as a gift to my girlfriend for xmas has turned into an obsession.

I have to admit, I am not one for dancing, but once things clicked I've been smitten ever since. I built a dance floor in my garage to practice and have gotten to the point where I'm the one more excited about dancing than my girl is :p

I'm currently learning the Fox Trot, Waltz, Rumba, and Swing. My favorites are probably Waltz and Rumba. I really enjoy the fluidity of waltz, its almost lighter than air, and rumba is slowly becoming one of my bread and butter of dances. There's something about the Cuban Motion which can really make a man feel "sexy" if thats even possible. Just moving your hips the right way can turn heads in your direction, its quite a rush for such an introvert like myself. I'm a different person on the dance floor.

SO, who else here dances? How long have you been doing it? What are you favorites? Any music recommendations for the styles I'm learning? I just started waltzing to Feist's 1234, or was it a fox trot? Ah well, I can't remember, but it sure is fun all the same.

I just got back from dancing, my girl is out of town, and already I'm looking forward to practicing in front of the mirror for a few hours tomorrow. :p Gonna watch that Richard Gere movie with the lady tomorrow as well, the one where he ballroom dances in secret and eventually competes. I think I'm headed that direction, competition ballroom dancing, not the gerbil thing though.

Guys, if you want to make your lady feel like a million bucks, take her dancing! If you're single, learn to dance! Women LOVE a man who can dance, especially a man who can LEAD with passion and vigor!

Indy

Zealot
Gold
Jul 29, 2007