Battery life now worse than ever

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by jfleming01, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. jfleming01

    jfleming01 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've read through some of the older threads but still at a loss. Standby and usage virtually the same. ip5 will go from 100% to 0 in a few hours and is always warm. Location arrow not showing, and I turned off most of my notifications. This got a lot worse in the last few days, any thing else I can try?
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,522
    Try these steps in order. Move on to the next one if the problem isn't solved.

    1. Do a hard reset. Press the home and power buttons simultaneously, ignore the slide to power off and let go of both when you see the Apple logo.

    2. Reset all settings.

    3. Restore.
     
  3. jfleming01

    jfleming01 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    7
    3. Restore

    from back up? as new?

    thanks Europa
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,522
    Try backup first. If that doesn't work, go to factory settings.
     
  5. jfleming01

    jfleming01 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    7
    thanks Europa. 1 & 2 did not work, usage and standby are both at 1:20 and I'm down to 88%. On to the restore from back up. Business trip tomorrow so I'll probably wait to go for the full blown restore- I'll just be on the lookout for outlets all day.

    and to think I was just bragging about the ip5 battery life a few months ago. guess I jinxed it.
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,522
    Yeah, give that a try later. If it stays hot and rapidly drains in standby after a restore, Apple will replace it for you.
     
  7. jmp316

    jmp316 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    141
    Sounds like a setting is draining your battery. Did you check Settings > Privacy > Location Services > System Services to see if there is anything on that shouldn't be?

    There's also a free app called Battery Doctor that determines which apps use the most power. This app can also free system resources to free up unused memory. You may want to check it out...


    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/battery-doctor-battery-saver/id446751279?mt=8
     
  8. AdamDaieh

    AdamDaieh Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is this also available for jailbroken devices?
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,522
    It's in the App Store, so it will work on non-jailbroken and jailbroken iPhones.
     
  10. AdamDaieh

    AdamDaieh Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thank you! I will check on it. :)
     
  11. EverythingApple

    EverythingApple Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    217
    I downloaded it and used the accelerate feature, which I assume is the free up memory portion. Although, I already have that from Cydia.
     
  12. jfleming01

    jfleming01 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thank you for the advice everyone. Battery Doctor does seem to help somewhat, although usage and standby are still in lockstep- even when the phone is just sitting on my nightstand. Went by the Apple store and they ran a diagnostic on the battery and said it was fine. Whole lotta data accessing going on- so one or more apps must be causing it. I've got an apt with a genius tomorrow- might just have to get a new phone.
     
  13. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Try Settings > General > Cellular and make sure Cellular Data is set to ON. I seem to remember something similar on my phone a long time ago and I did that and it allowed my "Usage" and "Standby" times to separate. Something was trying to "go through" cellular data and because I had it set to OFF, it was unable to go through, and it kept trying over and over.

    This was quite some time ago (I think before iOS 6.0), and this may not help you, but it's worth a shot.
     
  14. jmp316

    jmp316 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    141
    What I also like about Battery Doctor was the ability to see which apps use the most power. Have you looked into that? Screen brightness?

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21367037996.544720.jpg
     
  15. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    I don't have Battery Doctor, but thanks for sharing the screenshot. It's interesting (and helpful) to know that the Facebook app is a battery hog.
     
  16. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Kind of brings back memories of old task managers. ;)

    Sent for my Nexus 4
     
  17. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,464
    Sent for your Nexus 4?
     
  18. jmp316

    jmp316 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Likes Received:
    141
    If usage and standby are the same, there must be a rouge app/apps that you've installed that's causing it. My suggestion is think of apps that you have installed recently (or around the time this problem started) and continue to test until it fixes the problem. Or turn off location services for each app individually to find the culprit...

    http://www.gottabemobile.com/2011/12/02/how-to-fix-bad-iphone-4s-battery-life-in-5-minutes/

    http://forums.everythingicafe.com/threads/usage-standby-meter-reading-the-exact-same-time.40124/
     
  19. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Thanks.

    Sent from my Nexus 4
     
  20. jfleming01

    jfleming01 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Likes Received:
    7
    Restore as new phone solved the problem. Genius Bar said something with the firmware was causing constant data searching. Thanks for everyones help.
     

Share This Page