Becoming more energy efficient

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
Long Island, NY
Show of hands, who likes their electric company? Mine happens to be the worst of the worst. Highest rates in the country and extremely poor service. During Hurricane Sandy, the entirety of Long Island was without power for an extended period of time. There were no shortage of stories on in the media about how ineffective they were both in preparation and restoration.

To say I'm not crazy about them would be an understatement. They are however the only game in town. Not much I can do, or so I thought. I realized there are some things I can do and that's figure out ways to reduce my costs. I've been everything but what you'd call a 'green' guy, but my dislike for my local power authority has definitely pushed me in that direction.

I'm just starting out, but I'm genuinely excited about reducing my payment to the LIPA cartel. The first step today was picking up a few LED lights. They're pricey, but you pay a fraction (about 1/6th) of a normal incandescent bulb. They also look a bit funky and the color is cool - it seems to be highly dependent upon wall color and your fixtures.

I figured a few other quick fixes would be to pick up Belkin Conserve Power Switches. I plan on using these for our Keurig, printer and not sure where else. Also got a power strip from Belkin that has a remote, so you can effectively turn off your computer, removing any draw from the outlet. This will eliminate 'phantom power usage'.