Beta 5 is out, worth installing?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Hondamaker, Aug 4, 2014.

  1. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    I haven't used the beta since #2. Is beta 5 worth getting? Any bug fixes?
     
  2. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    About a million bug fixes, according to all of the changelogs. Based on the calendar and supposed new iPhones, the final can't be that far away. I plan on updating today, just haven't found time yet. I'm not sure what's new from beta 4 to beta 5.
     
  3. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Jack, here's a rundown of what's new in iOS 8 beta 5. Nothing earth shattering. Again, I think it's the bug fixes and stability that's of more importance at this stage.
     
    #3 chris, Aug 4, 2014
    Last edited: May 26, 2015
  4. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    Thanks Chris. I only went as far as beta 2 before the bugs bit me too hard. So beta 5 will probably be great in comparison. I've installed it, just waiting for my apps to sync.
     
  5. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Yeah, it's been an awfully buggy year. I've had Safari crash entirely too much, often on hand-offs from Facebook or Twitter – which is pretty common for my usage, so very annoying. Such is beta and life with beta. Here's to hoping beta 5 is much improved. Let me know how it works out for you.
     
  6. coop1701

    coop1701 Zealot
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Likes Received:
    110
    I'm hoping this Beta is better too. I leave for vacation tomorrow. So I think I am going to wait until I get back next to load it. I may try it on my iPad first though.
     
  7. coinstar99

    coinstar99 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did an OTA at work yesterday evening when I saw that it was out, it caused my 5S to go into a boot loop. When I got home I tried to do a fresh restore to iOS 8 beta 5 and I kept getting the error that the version was wrong. I restored to 7.1.2 last night and I am going to try again today and see what happens.

    Funny thing was my iPad when is a 3rd gen, no problems what so ever.
     
  8. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    The only problem I have is that in notification center when I see my day at a glance, the weather is gone. No option to add it.
     
  9. coinstar99

    coinstar99 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed, both iPhone 5s and iPad 3rd Gen working. Actually made and received a call from the iPad. Can't get the SMS Relay working properly, it will receive but it will not send.
     
  10. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    Works fine for me on beta 5. Try this:

    Settings > NC > NCWeather > On

    Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Weather > On
     
  11. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    Without doing anything my weather shows up in the Notification Center.
     
  12. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    How did you make a call from the iPad?
     
  13. FuelieNova

    FuelieNova Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    29
    FaceTime maybe?
    Tom
     
  14. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    No, it's not FaceTime. There's an option to place a phone call on the iPad. I'm using the iPad 2, since my ex-wife stole and sold my iPad air.
     
  15. MrMike6by9

    MrMike6by9 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Likes Received:
    120
    Yikes!!! Condolences Dude.
     
  16. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    How did you make a call from the iPad? I'm asking you again.
     
    #16 Hondamaker, Aug 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2014
  17. Docd

    Docd Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    66
    The iPad is connected to the iPhone through Your home wifi and is really using the phone to make the calls. It's one of the handoff features.
     
  18. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    632
    Well, when my iPhone rings, I have no opportunity to answer with the iPad via handoff. How can I enable that?
     
  19. Docd

    Docd Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    66
    Since I don't have the betas installed someone else would have to answer.
     
  20. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    I think you have to be running Yosemite on your Mac as well as iOS 8 on your iPad. Do you have Yosemite?
     

Share This Page