MacBook Pro Buy MacBook Pro now or wait....

sjc22us

Aug 8, 2010
Hi guys,

I'm looking at buying a MacBook pro 13" next week and I'm just wondering if I should wait till the end of the year to see if there is a redesign. I am going to be using it for work (I'm a graphic designer) and also for home use.

What are your opinions?

Babyt

Zealot
Gold
May 24, 2010
Hi guys,

I'm looking at buying a MacBook pro 13" next week and I'm just wondering if I should wait till the end of the year to see if there is a redesign. I am going to be using it for work (I'm a graphic designer) and also for home use.

What are your opinions?
My opinion is
Get the base model 15in with antiglare screen. You get a MUCH better resolution which you NEED for graphic design and the screen is going to be way more accurate color wise. What I mean by that is the colors on the screen will match what is printed much more accurately which is very important in graphic design. Also the bigger and better CPU/screen is going to be a major plus.
I'm a graphic designer and I wouldn't even look at a 13in mbp because of the colors as well as the screen size. If anything I would get the air over the 13 pro.
And to answer your question get the mbp now. They just had a big update a few months ago and IF another one happens in the fall it will be a spec bump not a redesign.

sjc22us

Aug 8, 2010
Thanks for the reply. The reason behind getting the 13 is portability but at work it is going to be plugged into a 27 inch monitor. What do you think?

Babyt

Zealot
Gold
May 24, 2010
a 15 is just as portable as a 13 IMHO
i have had nothing but 15 laptops and find them very portable...
im not big either, just 5'4 and petite.
the processor on the 13 is only a dual core i5 or i7
the processor on the 15 is quad core i7
and the graphics card are much better on the 15+ macs

also upgrade [by yourself...its cheaper] to 8gb memory :)

Europa

Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
Utah