Calendar alerts/alarms

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by lumax, Aug 31, 2009.

1. lumax

lumax New Member

Hi,

I am new to the iPhone (3-g) and I have to say that the calendar function could be better. On my old phone I would get a loud alarm at the time of an event and the alarm would sound for 1 minute. With the iPhone you get 2 short chirps that can be drowned out by a pin drop. I have done some research on this topic and it appears that Apple might be working on this issue by either improving the alerts or by allowing application creators to the operating codes so that the apps. can also have better alarms.
    Does anyone know when Apple might be improving on the calendar alarms or releasing the codes for app creators?
    Are there any apps that have better calendar alarms? I have Pocket Informant.

thanks

2. Terry M.

Terry M. Contributor
    Silver

Did you try some different alarm sounds? I've got a calendar alarm that is stock and makes people turn their head when it goes off. I'll post back in a minute with which one it is.

3. lionqueen

lionqueen Member
    Bronze

I'm not really thrilled with the Calendar either. On my old phone I could set as many alerts as I wanted, and could set it for any day or time, like tuesday at 3:31 pm, five weeks from now. It's one of the few things I miss about my old phone (that and being able to use custom tones for my SMS tones, instead of pick one of five or so that Apple things I should use).

There's a few things I dislike about the iPhone, definitely. Luckily, the good stuff about it does make up for the bad. I do hope they improve the Calendar app though - honestly I find it a bit half-assed.

4. eye-Fone

eye-Fone Zealot
    Gold

I don't like the fact that I cannot snooze a calendar appointment reminder. That really blows. Windows Mobile has this--does Android or the Pre have this feature?

I know I can set two alerts for one appointment, but that's not the same as snoozing.

5. MrMike6by9