Call ID toggle ...

jscaffidi

Nov 14, 2007
I finally found out from Apple that with the iPhone, you either block call Id or not ... There is no per call unblock code (ie *82) and it doesn't matter what your network sets. This means quite a chore to unblock on a per call basis! (settings -> phone -> show my caller id -> 'on' -> home -> phone / contact etc) just to call and show the id. Seems to me that this would be a PERFECT addition to the 'services' program ...! (PLEASSSSE?!)

acosmichippo

Genius
Platinum
Sep 10, 2007
DC
sounds reasonable.

are you a bill collector or something?

jscaffidi

Nov 14, 2007
I'm a physician and have had some crazy patients get hold of my cell number in the past and use it ANYTIME of day and incessantly. So I usually per call unblock for friends and family and block for work.

KNK

Jul 22, 2007
Stevenson Ranch
I'm a physician and have had some crazy patients get hold of my cell number in the past and use it ANYTIME of day and incessantly. So I usually per call unblock for friends and family and block for work.
Are you a Proctologist?

jscaffidi

Nov 14, 2007
why? Haven't seen yours for a day or two?!

Marianne

Zealot
Jul 16, 2007
Massachusetts
marianneschultz.com
I finally found out from Apple that with the iPhone, you either block call Id or not ... There is no per call unblock code (ie *82) and it doesn't matter what your network sets. This means quite a chore to unblock on a per call basis! (settings -> phone -> show my caller id -> 'on' -> home -> phone / contact etc) just to call and show the id. Seems to me that this would be a PERFECT addition to the 'services' program ...! (PLEASSSSE?!)
actually there is a per call block code, at least with AT&T in the u.s. just dial *67 and then the full number you want to dial (e.g., *674155551212) and your caller id will be blocked for that call only. i've tested it and it works - when i call my husband's phone, it shows up as a "private call" on his cell with no other information shown.