Calling all geniuses please help.........WiFi connected but

Discussion in 'iPod Touch' started by Mr Blue, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. Mr Blue

    Mr Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked up my Touch yesterday. I have a 2wire modem and it has wifi capabilities. I have searched all over the internet (including here) for help and have not found a solution.

    Here's my problem. The device has the wifi "fan" in the upper left hand corner and in settings it shows it is connected to my home wifi.

    When I launch Safari I get this message:

    "Safari could not open the page because the server stop responding."

    When I launch the iTunes icon I get this error:

    "Cannot connect to iTunes Store"

    My settings are below I believe it may be the ip address is causing this because from research I have found this is just a standard ip. So I'm at a loss as to how to fix this. I would greatly appreciate help! Thanks

    Phone settings DHCP
    ip address 169.254.203.98
    subnet mask 255.255.0.0
    DNS 208.xx.xxx.xxx

    2wire modem settings
    Channel: 1 (2.412 MHz)
    Authentication: WEP-Open
    Encryption: WEP

    *edit: I am subscribed to this thread. So I wont go disappearing : ) *
     
  2. JoeT

    JoeT Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    169.254.x.x addresses are assigned when the iPhone cannot get an IP address via DHCP. Since the network you are on is not using that IP address scheme (and shouldn't be), you can't route your traffic to the web, iTunes, etc.

    You'll need to find out why you can't lease an IP address -- might be a security setting that is blocking your iPhone - MAC filtering or something.

    Incidentally, WEP is quite insecure and really shouldn't be used unless you have absolutely no other choice.


    - Joe
     
  3. Mr Blue

    Mr Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Joe,

    So when I open my settings for the modem this info is in there.

    Private Network
    Router Address: 192.168.x.xxx
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    DHCP Range: 192.168.x.xx - 192.168.x.xxx
    Allocated: 2
    Available: 188

    Device List

    MYCOMPUTER 192.168.x.xx



    Forgot to mention I'm running XP Pro. Would I manually input this info into iPod Touch? I can configure manually as well. But not sure how I would do that. This is what it looks like though

    Configure manually
    Router Address:

    Subnet Mask:

    Enable DHCP
    First DHCP Address:

    Last DHCP Address:
     
  4. eplantz

    eplantz Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    with wifi, connected and authenticated are two different things.

    i suspect your WEP is not working.

    to verify, turn off security on your modem/router and try the iPhone again.

    if that works, turn it back on and use a simple WEP password such as

    1111111111

    (tell the iPhone to FORGET this wifi and recoonect)

    as I recall, these 2WIRE devices only use 64-bit WEP (not very secure)

    if you check the iPhone network settings and if you have an IP address like 192.168.xxx.xxx that means you succeeded.
     
  5. Mr Blue

    Mr Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    awesome it worked without security on! ok let me try turning it back on.
     
  6. Mr Blue

    Mr Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man that worked great! Thanks a ton!
     
  7. berytus

    berytus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    no wifi

    I have no wifi connection on my iPod touch. the option is greyed.what should i do please/
     
  8. hahaha

    hahaha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay i have the same problem it says i have a signal for my linksys but every time i want to connect it won't, any help?
     
  9. Mr Blue

    Mr Blue New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turn off security and then see if you can connect. If you can turn security back on but choose to manually change your password. When prompted to put password on iPod touch enter it and you will be good to go.
     
  10. Jayzay

    Jayzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    what if you cant turn your security off? is there ANY other way to do anything?
     
  11. Hawk

    Hawk Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    241
    Generally that is an indication that your Wifi card has stopped working.
    If you are jailbroken, try restoring. If you are not jailbroken, and within the first year warranty, take it to Apple for a replacement.
     
  12. Jayzay

    Jayzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh man... well any other suggestions?
     
  13. Jayzay

    Jayzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    WAIT um my iPod touch isn't jailbroken! as a matter of fact the one i have is version 2.2 and the 2nd generation
     
  14. Jayzay

    Jayzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i should take it back and get a new one?
     
  15. Jayzay

    Jayzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    plus i thought that jailbreaking your ipod touch would also allow you to access safari without a connection?!?
     

Share This Page