Camera icon on locked screen

Discussion in 'iOS Software' started by ivantwilliams, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. ivantwilliams

    ivantwilliams Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Likes Received:
    219
    I'm curious, does anyone use the camera icon on the locked screen of their iPhone running iOS 5?
     
  2. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Yes. If I am trying to take a picture quickly I use it. Saves the swipe and Getting to screen with camera app on it.
     
  3. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    I have used it a number of times as well.
     
  4. Lon

    Lon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    132
    Frequently. When I remember it, that is.
     
  5. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,757
    I keep forgetting and go the long way. After 4 years it's hard to change the habit.
     
  6. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    I have to agree with Lon and Benny. I do sometimes forget its an option now with IOS 5
     
  7. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    I wish certain features were able to be used without having to enter your lock code. I know you can change the lock code requirement to a longer time than immediately. But I don't like that. Things like the camera from the lock screen would be useful without having to enter your lock code.
     
  8. katelynneemma

    katelynneemma Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Likes Received:
    98
    double click the home button. Camera and iPod available in the lock screen. If I understood the question correctly.
     
  9. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Stand corrected. Just try it and you are correct. I wonder what I did before that kicked my butt.
    Thanks Kati.
     
  10. Badfishy

    Badfishy Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Likes Received:
    27
    I use it pretty often. I always forget that I can't get access to my other pics or anything else on the phone until I actually enter my lock code though. I guess it's nice it doesn't create a back door to get into my phone without the passcode. This quick camera access button has to easily be one of my favorite features of ios5.


    Verizon iPhone 4S using iCafe app
     
  11. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I would like an option to lock that soft-button vs having to double click home to get it to appear. Of course with this option, waking the lock screen is limited to the power button.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  12. Lon

    Lon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    132
    ?
     
  13. Ms Cola

    Ms Cola Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes! I love this enhancement.
     
  14. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    I always forget. My thumb click/swipe muscle memory is so ingrained, my phone is unlocked before I even think about double clicking. I don't use a pass code, obviously.
     
  15. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I like the quick access to the camera from the lock screen and would like it better if it was just there without having to click click the home button to bring it up. That would make getting to the camera that much faster.

    I understand though that such a setup may result in pictures being taken inside of your purse for example, as objects accidentally tap against the home button.

    I think though that the power button is likely a little less prone to such accidents.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
     
  16. Ffmaster1

    Ffmaster1 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Likes Received:
    5
    I Use it very often!it is very practical!
     

Share This Page