Can magnets really BRICK an iPhone ?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

scott99

Bronze
Sep 5, 2007
Great Neck, NYC
I'm a newbie here, just got my iPhone last Thursday. I've been reading on these message boards for a bit though. I've been hearing rumors that magnets, for instance in phone cases, can brick an iPhone. Mac/Life magazine actually has it listed in it's article this month on 25 iPhone Power Tips (tip #9). Has anyone run into this problem, it actually scares me a bit. Why would they sell cases with magnets for iPhones if this were true ? Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

iPastor

Bronze
Aug 10, 2007
Virginia
www.myspace.com
I'm a newbie here, just got my iPhone last Thursday. I've been reading on these message boards for a bit though. I've been hearing rumors that magnets, for instance in phone cases, can brick an iPhone. Mac/Life magazine actually has it listed in it's article this month on 25 iPhone Power Tips (tip #9). Has anyone run into this problem, it actually scares me a bit. Why would they sell cases with magnets for iPhones if this were true ? Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
I'm no engineer but I believe the strength of a magnet that holds a case flap closed is no where near strong enough to zap static memory. Someone please feel free to correct me if I'm mistaken.

Tinman

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 16, 2007
Aridzona
I'm no engineer but I believe the strength of a magnet that holds a case flap closed is no where near strong enough to zap static memory. Someone please feel free to correct me if I'm mistaken.
Not only do I concur, there isn't any magnetic media in the iPhone to begin with.