Can't add song from another computer without deleting everything?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Vcize, Oct 30, 2009.

1. Vcize

Vcize New Member

I'm new to the iPhone. Never used an ipod before because iTunes always bothered me. But I love my iPhone, best gadget/device I've ever purchased.

That said, it looks like my qualms with iTunes were not unfounded, at least for me. So here I am, with my iPhone typically sync'd with my home computer. I'm sitting at work with my laptop, and want to add some stuff from my laptop onto my phone. I go into iTunes on the laptop, attempt to add the stuff, and get:

"An iPhone can be synced with only one iTunes library at a time. Erasing and syncing replaces the contents of this iPhone with the contents of this iTunes library".

Are you freaking kidding me? I don't want to sync the whole library, I just want to add a few individual things from this computer onto my phone. In all honesty, this has got to be the most ridiculous design flaw I've EVER come across.

Is there some simple way around this? All I want to do is add a few songs/movies from this computer onto my iPhone. How freaking complicated can that be?

2. iNinja

iNinja Zealot
    Gold

In iTunes you want to check manually manage music and then you should be able to sync with mutiple computers as long as your syncing from the same iTunes account

3. onlyoneromeo

onlyoneromeo New Member

copy the songs onto a disc take it home download it into your iTunes then sync

4. Vcize

Vcize New Member

I tried that, but literally even changing the setting to "manually manage music" and then clicking apply tells you that it will erase everything on the iPhone just to change the dang setting in iTunes.

Ridiculous.

5. iNinja

iNinja Zealot
    Gold

Yes, you have to do it on the original computer it was synced with 1st. Thats all.

6. psylichon

psylichon Genius