CID Adware

Status
Not open for further replies.

guest0320

Silver
Nov 11, 2007
Good Day to Everyone

It is nice to be back (again).

I unfortunately downloaded something from Limewire (Rosetta Stone Japanese) that gave me the CID adware sickness.

How in God's name do I get rid of this S?

I am not a computer engineer and do not feel comfortable deleting lines of code (as suggested by many websites).

Any ideas

Thank you
Dana

OJsakila

Jul 15, 2007
Jupiter's sulphur mines
Stop using Limewire. Serves you right.

Many problems exist with Limewire. I have used it in the past but I, too, have been duped into downloading trojans...Screw limewire. I hate it.

I know this post doesn't help your problem. Wish I could help. Restore hard drive..? I guess that would be a last case scenario.

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
ATL
Dana,
Here's 2 free products that should take care of you.
1) is called Malwarebytes Anti-Malware scanner. full system scan should take about an hour or so. Might be longer depending on how large and full your drives are.
2) is Avast! 4 Home scanner, which is a very indepth, low-level scanner that will get anything left. This can take hours to scan the full system with High level of security, but it is very very thorough.

OJsakila

Jul 15, 2007
Jupiter's sulphur mines
Dana,
1) is called Malwarebytes Anti-Malware scanner. full system scan should take about an hour or so. Might be longer depending on how large and full your drives are.
2) is Avast! 4 Home scanner, which is a very indepth, low-level scanner that will get anything left. This can take hours to scan the full system with High level of security, but it is very very thorough.
great signature. Sure to have the bleeding heart left wing wackos seeing red!

psylichon

Genius
Oct 31, 2007
Philly
I recommend Adaware and AVG. I've never had any problems with these two free tools on my computer, and I visit plenty of unsavory corners of the interweb ;)