Creating a WiFi Hotspot

bulls6pack

Bronze
Jan 27, 2009
Peoria, Illinois
Does anyone know how to create a wifi hotspot without a computer? I am very interested in creating a wifi hotspot for myself at work, but I have zero access to computers at work. I have seen such things as Windows Mobile phones and programs those users can download on their phone that turns their phones into hotspots, but I don't think there is anything like that for the iPhone. Another cool thing I have seen is the Verizon Mifi thing, but I have no knowledge of that particular piece of equipment, and I have no idea how it works. Any ideas?

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
ATL
Well, one way or another, you have to have something that has access to the internet first, before you can connect to it to create a wifi hotspot. Whether it's a LAN connection or connection through another device such as a phone with WiMax, but it would also have to have a WiFi card for peer to peer connectivity to make the hotspot.
With no access to computers, your options are pretty limited, and if you make one off your network at work, it's highly likely that you'll get in trouble for doing it.

bulls6pack

Bronze
Jan 27, 2009
Peoria, Illinois
So this Verizon Mifi thing I saw on Best Buys website, do you know anything about it? Im guessing here, but I think that it would have to run off of Verizons network, because it said you can take it on the go with you in your car. So if thats the case then you probably need to have Verizon correct?

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
ATL
Sorry, I don't know anything about it, but I can guess that any device that is used to access the internet through a Cell carrier, is going to cost money. And a monthly plan.

timothy14

Oct 5, 2009
google "use iPhone as wifi hotspot".

iphonewarrior

Apr 11, 2008