Curious, How many here never used their College Degree?

Apple iAddicted

Contributor
Bronze
Feb 20, 2012
Myself I got my degree in Computer Repair/Networking, wanted to add Programming but in 99 they dropped the course where I went claiming Programming would be obsolete after they fix the Y2K bug lol. Some stupid community college board decided that.
Anyway teachers claimed we could make as much as 35000 a year but I got a job in sales making over 40000 a year and in 4 years worked up to Management scoring over 60000 a year not including bonuses and a 2wk paid vacation.
Then I crashed my pride and joy a 05 Yamaha V-Star Custom blue with ghost flames..... It was 5 months old 4,500 miles when totaled.
I was young and dumb you know how it goes.

So who else Wasted 2to4 years on a degree only to get a great job in a different field they still could of got without any college at all.

And no I'm dissin College I think it's a great experience just saying young adults think before you choose your classes, research what it pays, go visit a job site and see how you like the real work with the years of dirt and crazy things people do to stuff you might be handling. A degree in Sales could of got me to Managment in a year rather than 4.

Sent from my 32GB iPhone 4s on iOS 5.1!
Only thing iPhone is missing is an expandable memory port! Come on Apple give us a microSD port already!

Last edited by a moderator:
Nov 14, 2008
Cairo, Egypt.
I know a whole lot of people who work in fields much different than their degrees. That is why I am trying to choose the easiest major there is because I am pretty sure I can work any where that doesn't require special skills as in being a doctor, lawyer, engineer, etc. and even companies that specialize in that always have other departments I can work at.

eye-Fone

Zealot
Gold
Jul 5, 2008
Sunny, southern California.
I have a Computer Science degree and I have been a software engineer for years!