delete mail sound stopped working

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

spud

Bronze
Nov 5, 2007
new iPhone noob here.

Purchased the phone last friday.

When i started checking email, i noticed that after i read the email and would hit the trash icon to delete the mail, it would do the visual shrink and look like it was put in the trash can coupled with a sound during the action.

Today when i hit the trash icon, it does the animation but NO sound.

All other sounds work fine. New mail message...sending a message ...etc..

Just don't get the delete mail sound anymore.

Any ideas on how to get the sound back?

Thanks

Alex

gcvt

Zealot
Gold
Jun 21, 2007
San Francisco
Strange...I don't recall ever hearing a sound when deleting an email. Nor do I remember hearing about that on this forum or seeing it in the sound or mail preferences. What did it sound like?

spud

Bronze
Nov 5, 2007
it was only when deleting the message while reading it in full. Not at the screen where you wipe your finger quickly to the right of the message to then see the delete button.

it is when you are looking at the message in full and then hitting the trash can icon at the bottom of the screen..

hard to explain the sound... kinda like a woosh sound..

*Now i will totally admit to being a total dummy and I am confusing that you hear a delete sound when you delete mail in MS outlook. but i don't think im off my rocker. I really feel like there was a sound associated to deleting an email.

no one else gets a sound?

gcvt

Zealot
Gold
Jun 21, 2007
San Francisco
Very interesting. I understand what you mean about when you're reading it in full and tap on the little trash can as opposed to the 'swipe' delete, but I've never had any sound when I do either. I only get the "Whoosh" sound when I send out an email.

Anyone else getting a sound upon deleting email?

spud

Bronze
Nov 5, 2007
I get a sound when I delete mail.