Delete saved messages in "usage" ?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

macscac

Member
Bronze
Jun 17, 2009
464
16
18
#1
I have deleted all the texts in my message app.
But in the settings/usage, it shows 3+ gigs on the phone
How do I delete this?

a8araqaj.jpg


ma9ubygu.jpg
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#2
Try doing a hard reset (press the home and power buttons until it reboots) and syncing with iTunes.
 

acosmichippo

Genius
Platinum
Sep 10, 2007
15,384
1,089
113
DC
#4
I think you have to. "Deleting" messages doesn't actually delete them unfortunately. If you begin a new iMessage conversation, you will see the messages you deleted pop back up in the history.
 

macscac

Member
Bronze
Jun 17, 2009
464
16
18
#6
Thats what i thought but they don't re-appear when i start a new conversation.
this is a dumb problem.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#7
I think you have to. "Deleting" messages doesn't actually delete them unfortunately. If you begin a new iMessage conversation, you will see the messages you deleted pop back up in the history.
In the history? Do you mean the texting thread for that person? I've deleted texting threads that were really long a bunch of times and they never reappeared when I texted that person again. Additionally, I've gone into iFile (while jailbroken) and seen the GB drastically decrease immediately after deleting entire texting threads. I simply hit edit then delete to do this.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,505
113
Utah
#8
I have deleted all the texts in my message app.
But in the settings/usage, it shows 3+ gigs on the phone
How do I delete this?

View attachment 32027

View attachment 32028
Did your usage page update to the current size of the messaging app yet? I just deleted five picture texts and my messaging app immediately reflected the change in size and decreased by several MB. I didn't even have to reboot. I'm curious if yours just took a while to update on that screen.