Delete Winterboard without Cydia

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#2
Do you have Icy installed?

Do you have openSSH installed on your device? - if so, how do you connect.. winSCP or Cyberduck etc?
 
Sep 14, 2009
4
0
0
#3
Nope I have no SSH installed ..I actually never used either cydia or winterboard so I wanted to delete both but I realized that I should have deleted Winterboard first through cydia then cydia itself but i screwed up.

Anybody please provide with suggestions to delete winterboard now without having cydia now ..

Thanks in advance

Raj
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#4
Restore and set up as new phone. You will need to re-insert all your settings though.

If you haven't installed anything through Cydia which could effect your phone in future then restore from back-up
 

ipwn3gs

New Member
Bronze
Jul 12, 2009
155
0
0
#5
Nope I have no SSH installed ..I actually never used either cydia or winterboard so I wanted to delete both but I realized that I should have deleted Winterboard first through cydia then cydia itself but i screwed up.

Anybody please provide with suggestions to delete winterboard now without having cydia now ..

Thanks in advance


Raj


you could use redsn0w to install icy than cydelete to get rire of it....


i lost cydia and i went throught that process to get it back.... just becareful sometimes icy wont see the stuff you installed with cydia soo....

DO NOT FOR THE LOVE OF GOD REINSTALL ANYTHING that you did with cydia. i went throught that process and now with the updates locked it impossible to restore and your phone will be in safe mode 24/7.
 
Sep 14, 2009
4
0
0
#6
How to delete winterboard with no cydia

Hii all,

Let me try to make myself more clear in terms of seeking your help.

1. I deleted my cydia without deleting winterboard which I think comes from cydia.

2.SO now how should I go ahead and delete winterboard which is making my 3 G very slow.

3.If I have to reinstall cydia to delete winterboard how should i do it ?

4.Is there any way around e/g delete winterboard by going into safe mode or something ?

Sorry for being so naive and stupid cos this is not my field :(

Thanks al.

Raj
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#7
Restore your phone. Restore from back-up.

There are so many ways you could get rid of it, but if you don't have OpenSSH installed or the Mobile Terminal app then it's simply easier to Restore and restore from back-up.
 
Sep 14, 2009
4
0
0
#8
Dear iPhonewarrior ,

I just read that restoring from back up will only do good for apps from appstore and not for cydia ?

Also will it lock my 3G phone again ?

Raj
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#9
Yes, you are correct. But what I'm saying is you can restore to 3.0.1 and still jailbreak, just don't download 3.1

You can re-jailbreak 3.0.1

So when you do re-jailbreak, don't download winterboard again ;)