Deleting a plist...bad news?

fearofnormalcy

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 8, 2010
1,742
118
63
New Port Richey, FL
www.facebook.com
#1
In pointing out biteSMS's "Hide Contact" feature to another forum member, I realized that I had forgotten my own password. After checking around online, I found a possible solution: delete the biteSMS plist in /var/mobile/Library/preferences.

Is this a bad suggestion, or will it work? I've edited plists before, but never deleted one completely. Just wanted to check to see if all will be well.

Also: If it's kosher, should I respring or reboot afterwards?
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#2
A reboot will probably be required. Why are you deleting it? Because you lost your password?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#3
Reboot after deleting it. If that's where it's stored, it should fix it by recreating the file on reboot. Can't hurt to try. Just back it up first.
 

fearofnormalcy

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 8, 2010
1,742
118
63
New Port Richey, FL
www.facebook.com
#4
E
A reboot will probably be required. Why are you deleting it? Because you lost your password?
Yup. Not that it's a big deal, but it annoys me that I've forgotten my own password. Tried all my usual ones, and still can't get in.

I think I set it back when I was inebriated....
 

fijiman

Contributor
Silver
Feb 13, 2011
832
64
28
UK
#5
Go for it...In the early days of "FullDrop"(in Cydia) I had a problem with my password...I was advised by the author of FullDrop to delete a .plist file then reboot.... fixed the my problem....funny thing, when I rechecked the folder the .plist file was back minus the password problems..:)
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#6
Go for it...In the early days of "FullDrop"(in Cydia) I had a problem with my password...I was advised by the author of FullDrop to delete a .plist file then reboot.... fixed the my problem....funny thing, when I rechecked the folder the .plist file was back minus the password problems..:)
Yeah, the missing file is recreated during the reboot.