Desperate can anyone help

Panpot

Dec 31, 2007
I know I am not the first and sadly wont be the last but can anyone help? I am unable to connect to my home wifi (Wanadoo live box) with my 16g iPod touch. I have been on every forum I can find and have been unable to find a solution. I have also just noticed that in my computer the ipod is not showing up even although it has synched apparently.

I am really a beginner with this and not sure what to do. I supspect there will be many many folks like me and if some kind person could assume we know nothing and carefuly guide us all what to do it would be a wonderful thing. For example my wifi does show up "wireless" and when clicked states "unable to join the network "wieless" If I go further I get what looks like a number of fields I am supposed to type in details such as IP Address Subnet Mask Router etc etc.

What on earth are these? I realise if you are technically up to speed this is all easy to understand but to the folks like me it just is so demoralising. To be honest I don't understand how a company like Apple can release a product that seems so wonderful on the surface but really is flawed beyond measure.

Thanking in advance anyone who can help, cheers Panpot

meiphones_brill

Silver
Nov 16, 2007
I'm afraid all the info you need is in the manual that came with your router. You're unlikely to get any help from a place like this as we actually know LESS than you do. Which is scary.

The Touch isn't flawed. If you set your router up with DHCP (which will be the default setting) all you will need to do on the touch is type in a password, nothing more than that.

Lincoln

Gold
Aug 11, 2007
There is no problem with the Touch, it's your router.

I can offer assistance, should you be using a Linksys router. Otherwise, it would be wise to contact however made your router.

For a Linksys router:
1) Open your browser. In the URL field, type in http: // 192.168.1.1 (remove spaces) and let the page load.