Dev blog updated. 4.3.1 jailbreak link released

psylichon

Genius
Moderator
Oct 31, 2007
16,591
751
113
41
Philly
#43
Don't jailbreak at work... the potential for error and subsequent temporary bricking isn't worth it, is it? Just wait 'till you get home.
 

medenblik

Contributor
Silver
Mar 25, 2010
834
44
28
#45
ok silly question

I have the IPSW for 4.3.1 and redsnow downloaded..........I am currently running 4.1 JB, can I just plug into iTunes and to the Control + Shift and point it to the IPSW I downloaded and then run redsnow to JB?

or should I upgrade to 4.3.1 in iTunes and then do the redsnow?

thanks
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,551
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#46
ok silly question

I have the IPSW for 4.3.1 and redsnow downloaded..........I am currently running 4.1 JB, can I just plug into iTunes and to the Control + Shift and point it to the IPSW I downloaded and then run redsnow to JB?

or should I upgrade to 4.3.1 in iTunes and then do the redsnow?

thanks
That's what I plan to do...
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,580
113
Utah
#47
ok silly question

I have the IPSW for 4.3.1 and redsnow downloaded..........I am currently running 4.1 JB, can I just plug into iTunes and to the Control + Shift and point it to the IPSW I downloaded and then run redsnow to JB?

or should I upgrade to 4.3.1 in iTunes and then do the redsnow?

thanks
You don't have to restore. Just hit the shift key and the update button in iTunes. After you've updated to 4.3.1 in iTunes, run redsn0w.
 

Leo

Zealot
Silver
Nov 9, 2008
900
137
43
31
Calgary, AB
#48
ok silly question

I have the IPSW for 4.3.1 and redsnow downloaded..........I am currently running 4.1 JB, can I just plug into iTunes and to the Control + Shift and point it to the IPSW I downloaded and then run redsnow to JB?

or should I upgrade to 4.3.1 in iTunes and then do the redsnow?

thanks
That's what I did, except that I Control+Shifted the Upgrade button so I wouldn't lose my information, and I was on firmware 4.2.1. It worked fine for me.
 

evolution83

Zealot
Gold
Mar 2, 2009
3,322
43
48
California
#49
Does the current sn0wbreeze allow for current baseband unlock? I read that it allows for an unlock, but don't see anything about current baseband.
 

medenblik

Contributor
Silver
Mar 25, 2010
834
44
28
#50
so you did the Control + Shift and pointed it to the IPSW and then ran redsnow to JB?
That's what I did, except that I Control+Shifted the Upgrade button so I wouldn't lose my information, and I was on firmware 4.2.1. It worked fine for me.
 
#51
Excuse my ignorance please, but why the "Control + Shift"? I already downloaded 4.3.1 from within iTunes a few days ago. Can I just hook to iTunes, and click update, then run Redsnow? I guess I don't understand what the control shift is supposed to do.
Thanks!
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,580
113
Utah
#52
Correct. You don't need to shift + update because the firmware file was downloaded through iTunes and it's already in the correct location on your computer. You have to use the shift key and then press the update button if you download the file from somewhere other than iTunes. It just allows you to browse for the file.

Just update in iTunes and then run redsn0w.
 

psylichon

Genius
Moderator
Oct 31, 2007
16,591
751
113
41
Philly
#54
That's what I did, except that I Control+Shifted the Upgrade button so I wouldn't lose my information
Just to be clear here, all the control key modifier does is allow you to browse and choose an IPSW file to restore or update from. A restore will wipe the phone (until you sync and restore a backup) and update will keep all media and data regardless of if you choose the IPSW or iTunes does automatically.
 

Lon

Evangelist
Gold
Jun 5, 2010
2,946
132
63
Alaska
#55
All went smooth on 3gs, but Cydia App is white and won't open.
Edit: So I suppose everything didn't go smooth!
Edit: Ran Redsn0w again and selected just boot tethered, and still no luck. Anyone else have this problem? Or a solution?
 

EverythingApple

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 28, 2010
3,864
225
63
North Jersey
#56
Don't jailbreak at work... the potential for error and subsequent temporary bricking isn't worth it, is it? Just wait 'till you get home.
I see one advantage...I already downloaded the 4.3.1 update on my home Mac, so I don't have to download it again. I'll report back, after I'm JB.
 

evolution83

Zealot
Gold
Mar 2, 2009
3,322
43
48
California
#57
Isn't 4.3.1 supposed to be buggy and a huge battery drain, or was that 4.3?
 

psylichon

Genius
Moderator
Oct 31, 2007
16,591
751
113
41
Philly
#59
So far for me, 4.3.1 has been smooth, fast, and easy on the battery.
 

Lon

Evangelist
Gold
Jun 5, 2010
2,946
132
63
Alaska
#60
All went smooth on 3gs, but Cydia App is white and won't open.
Edit: So I suppose everything didn't go smooth!
Edit: Ran Redsn0w again and selected just boot tethered, and still no luck. Anyone else have this problem? Or a solution?
Just reran Redsn0w again - with the same result! Hasn't anyone else encountered this.

I did last week with another 3gs using Greenpois0n and never did get it resolved, so switched to Limera1n and all worked well.