Did you guys ever see that before? No sound

Discussion in 'iPad 4' started by jareknyc, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    This is another strange thing that happen to my other iPad, I can't turn the sound on, when I go to move the slider in settings I can hear the ringer, but other then that I can't hear my keyboard clicks or anything else, games are voice less, and then look at the pic ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1375046127.632443.jpg


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  2. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,047
    Try a hard reboot?
     
  3. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeap


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Try this:
    Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings
     
  5. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Done , still the same


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    The problem is likely a dirty dock port. Try cleaning it with a new toothbrush and some compressed air. Apple sometimes uses an exacto knife to scrape inside of it, but I can't recommend doing that since it could damage it if done improperly. I'd start with gentle tools. Let me know if that works.
     
  7. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    No look at the pic again, sound actually work only ringtone, when u look at the pic the bar for adjust other sounds is gone, I can't make it louder or lower


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    I know. A dirty dock port can cause that volume knob to disappear.
     
  9. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Really?


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  10. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Yes, seriously. Debris, dirt or buildup in the dock port can cause the volume slider to disappear like yours has. A lot of people have fixed the problem by cleaning the port.
     
  11. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    The software can discern dirt on the dock port and is programmed to hide the knob on the slider until the dock port is cleaned?

    Now that is amazing. Is it just the iPad or can I get this to happen on my iPod?

    Sent from my Nexus 4
     
  12. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Yeah. It's really not that amazing. We put men on the moon and brought them back using computers with less processing power than that iPad has. That's amazing.
     
  13. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    488
    Do you have a reference for this claim?
     
  14. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I have both a 4th and 5th gen iPod. Is it specific to a connector type or are both able the sense a dirty port?

    I think Apple should have it display a "requires cleaning" notice say when the port is at the 80% threshold before hiding the volume access/control. I'd consider updating my 4th gen from iOS 5.x to current for such a feature.

    Sent from my Nexus 4
     
  15. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    The volume slider knob can disappear on both models if the port gets dirty enough. It is not a certainty that it will disappear, nor does it have a threshold where it can predict that it can handle 20% more dirt or grime before it will need to be cleaned. I've just seen threads where people said it disappeared and they didn't have audio until after they cleaned the port.
     
  16. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Fixed


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  17. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Please list how you fixed it to help others who are experiencing the same problem. Did you clean the port or do something else?
     

Share This Page