Does AT&T honor a iPhone bought from eBay?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by boulonman, Dec 15, 2009.

1. boulonman

boulonman New Member

Hi guys, I am new at this and trying to learn fast, I bought a 3G 8G jailbroke,unlocked iPhone from ebay and it works great, however if I ever decide to upgrade to the newest 3GS will ATT credit me anything for my old iPhone or am I stuck trying to sell it again? thank you for your help, alan:)

2. RossMc

RossMc Zealot
    Gold

You will have to sell it more than likley

Im not in the US so I don't know about AT&T but I know O2 or Orange in the UK wouldn't.

3. Pggylb

Pggylb Member
    Bronze

Are you asking will they let you upgrade when it's time?

Yes, they should. I bought a Motorola Pebbl unlocked from Motorola when another phone bit the dust. And AT&T still honored me with an upgrade option when it came time.

I hope this answers your question.

4. Hawk

Hawk Genius
    Gold

I have found that AT&T has a very weird policy on phone purchased outside of their stores. I bought a nokia 6620 from them, and 2 years later, I bought another off ebay, as I crushed the screen on the first one.
    I had to call in and activate the IMEI to be able to get on the net, but other than that, it was a continuation of my original plan.
    When I started looking at other phones, I talked to them about upgrading and I was told I was not eligible because I didn't buy my phone from them. I said that I bought the original one from them and haven't upgraded from that purchase and contract, and they said it didn't matter because I activated a new phone on the network since then.... bastards. That is the only problem I can think of that I have ever had with AT&T.
    But to answer your question in short form, yes, you will need to sell the existing one after you get the new one. There is not a trade in from the previous model to the next, just a subsidized price for new contracts.

5. Pggylb

Pggylb Member
    Bronze