A new user here, just wondering, when i set up my pop account, will the iPhone download all the messages with the contents(even if it's 10MB)? or will it download it partialy and i will have the option to retrieve the rest?
The iPhone only downloads the contents.. not the current messages. After you set up your e-mail on the phone, you can start receiving messages. However, it does not sync the current messages you have on your computer/mail account.
Actually, it will download any messages that are still on your POP mail server, even if they are already on your computer. The only messages that won't download are ones that have been deleted from the POP server. I get my emails from my home account delivered to my phone, but I selected the option not to delete them from the server so I can still download them onto my PC. Once they are on my PC they get deleted from the POP mail server.
With Microsoft Exchange emails, it will download any emails still on the main server that have not been deleted from your inbox.
Regarding attachments, it will download the entire email message and then give you the option to download and view any attachments within each individual email.
ok so i received an email a couple of minutes back....at the buttom, it asked me if i wanted to download the rest of the content....so how is this possible? i mean some emails it asks u if u want to download and others no.......any ideas? or am i missing something?
this is my experience with gmail. It shows all of my messages in my inbox, but once I enter that message, if it's too big, it will let me know it's only partially downloaded and will have a in message button to press to download the rest.
As for my other boxes, like trash, it will only show what I've deleted from my phone, but does give me a button at the bottom to download "x more meaasage" and the it will show me e mails I've deleted from a computer or what not as well.
How come Apple didn't make a way for a sort of popup when we delete the e-mail from the iPhone. I find it odd that it's either delete from server or the iPhone only. I would like the option to choose when I delete the e-mail.
I come from a BB and this is one feature I really miss.