Email "read"

missygal

Zealot
Silver
Jul 2, 2010
599
133
43
#1
Is there a setting so I get notified when an email has been read? Like iMessages...

Thanks
 
Dec 15, 2008
5,386
340
83
28
Pensacola, FL
#2
The setting would have to be set by the other person like iMessage. I wish this was possible.
 

Rafagon

Genius
Gold
Dec 7, 2011
7,566
1,254
113
45
Miami, Florida
#3
Is there a setting so I get notified when an email has been read? Like iMessages...

Thanks
The stock Mail app does not support read or return receipts, unfortunately—neither on iOS, nor on OS X!

If you follow that link in my previous paragraph, which will take you to a thread on the Apple Support communities, you will see that one user named "spiels" provided an answer that may be of use to you, but it is not exactly what you're looking for, as it will only work with Gmail or Outlook Mail. (He suggests the service called ContactMonkey). Also, sadly, this depends on you using Gmail on your on your desktop browser, and the browser has to be Chrome (it's a plug-in for the Chrome browser only)!
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#6
I just tested it and it does work, but there are a couple cons. The outgoing message isn't saved in your outbox and it only detects being read on mobile devices. You'll have no record of the email, it won't show you if the recipient reads it on their computer and it does let them know that it was sent with a tracking app, but otherwise it's pretty nice.
 

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#7
I just tested it and it does work, but there are a couple cons. The outgoing message isn't saved in your outbox and it only detects being read on mobile devices. It won't show you if the recipient reads it on their computer and it does let them know that it was sent with a tracking app, but otherwise it's pretty nice.
The pro version gets rid of that banner so the recipient doesn't know if it's tracked. Hopefully, the dev can work around the desktop issue. If the desktop mail client is enabled to automatically show images, it should work, shouldn't it? I guess you can Bcc it to yourself so you can have a copy.