Erase all content and settings?

MNJON

Member
Bronze
Nov 21, 2007
164
9
18
Minnesota
#1
So I'm needing to clean off my iPhone 4 to give it to its new buyer.... is it safe to just use the "Erase all content and settings" feature from the Settings/General area? Will that make my info safe?

Anything else I need to do?

Thanks!
 

acosmichippo

Genius
Platinum
Sep 10, 2007
15,384
1,089
113
DC
#3
yep, safe. Your data on the iPhone is encrypted, and performing "Erase all content and settings" removes the encryption key. Basically, that means the data is irrecoverable.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#5
Does it restore it to factory settings? I'm talking like deleting apps, bookmarks, etc.
 

Lon

Evangelist
Gold
Jun 5, 2010
2,946
132
63
Alaska
#7
yep, safe. Your data on the iPhone is encrypted, and performing "Erase all content and settings" removes the encryption key. Basically, that means the data is irrecoverable.
We might want to check with the FBI about that. :eek: