ERROR 1602 When Trying to Update

almarlimjr

Bronze
Jan 4, 2008
I'm new to iTunes and I've had my iPhone for almost a month SO I apologize if this is in the wrong place OR may come off as a dumb question.

So I tried to update to 1.1.3. I thought I'd update my iTunes to 7.6 but didn't know how to do it. I went onto the top tool bar on iTunes and saw "SEARCH FOR UPDATES". It did and found 7.6. I clicked OK to update so nothing happened. So I took off iTunes completely off my computer, Windows XP, and downloaded 7.6 off of Apple.com. Everything went OK. I was able to sync my iPhone.

So I synced my iPhone and it asked me if I wanted to download and update to 1.1.3. Clicked OK and everything seemed to be ok. Towards the end of the update I get error 1602. It was late so I forget what it said with the error. I disconnected and tried again. Same thing.

I've searched for error 1602 but nothing connected to updating to 1.1.3. So any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

iPhoneJones

Bronze
Jul 13, 2007
I got an error message as well. I chose to download and install. It downloaded fine but near the end of the install I got an error message. So I disconnected my iPhone from USB, and rebooted it (hold HOME and Sleep simultaneously for 5 or so seconds). I replugged my iPhone in and it worked after that. Maybe this will work for you too.

KNK

Jul 22, 2007
Stevenson Ranch
I'm new to iTunes and I've had my iPhone for almost a month SO I apologize if this is in the wrong place OR may come off as a dumb question.

So I tried to update to 1.1.3. I thought I'd update my iTunes to 7.6 but didn't know how to do it. I went onto the top tool bar on iTunes and saw "SEARCH FOR UPDATES". It did and found 7.6. I clicked OK to update so nothing happened. So I took off iTunes completely off my computer, Windows XP, and downloaded 7.6 off of Apple.com. Everything went OK. I was able to sync my iPhone.