FaceTime over Celluar on AT&T

  1. Rhinohd

    Rhinohd Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Looks like you need a shared Data plan to use it. So if I want to use it I need to dump my unlimited plan and go to 20gig shared plan for $40 more a month. AT&T you stink! No changing here...
     
    #1
  2. naviwilliams

    naviwilliams Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Likes Received:
    102
    Seriously? I'm not about to give up my unlimited data plan. It is not like I even use Facetime. I couldn't tell you the last time I used it...
     
    #2
  3. Avatar

    Sponsored Advertisement

  4. Lon

    Lon Evangelist Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    117
    If you insist on doing Facetime with WiFi, and don't have the Shared Data Plan, consider Tango. Great alternative. Or, if jailbroken, just use 3G unrestrictor.
     
    #3
  5. VOLS34

    VOLS34 Zealot Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Likes Received:
    71
    3G unrestrictor isn't needed anymore & couldn't be used anyway if you upgraded to iOS 6. I'm sure there will be some sort of jailbreak app or tweak when the jailbreak is available whenever that could be.
     
    #4
  6. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    522
    I prefer Tango over Facetime since it's cross platform and I can video chat with friends who have Android phones with front facing cameras. No need for Wi-Fi. It also allows the user to leave video messages if they don't answer.
     
    #5
  7. Fringe

    Fringe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    ZR_Yancy, totally agree. Tango is better than Facetime. Sticking with my unlimited data plan. Pretty poor persuasion plan AT&T, no thanks.
     
    #6
  8. Rafagon

    Rafagon Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    644
    #7
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2014
  9. Europa

    Europa Genius Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    3,622
    Still won't work on unlimited, though. It will work on tiered data plans, and there is no reason for it not to. I can't see any reason, other than greed, to not let people use their 2 or 4 gigabytes of data they are paying for however they want.
     
    #8
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2014
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Hondamaker

    Hondamaker Genius Gold

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    443
    Looks like I'll be waiting for the jailbreak. I won't give up my unlimited plan, and I would like to use FaceTime over data.
     
    #9
  11. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Did someone say jailbreak? Oh, nevermind.
     
    #10
  12. Europa

    Europa Genius Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    3,622
    Still gonna be a while, I think. There is absolute zero jailbreak buzz from the devs on Twitter right now. :unsure:
     
    #11
  13. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Napoleon PhoneApart Moderator Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    2,974
    The devs are sitting on it, don't you know? :D
     
    #12
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Nothing at all? I was reading not to upgrade to 6.0.1 but too late for me, I already did.
     
    #13
  15. Europa

    Europa Genius Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    3,622
    I updated as soon as it was available. I figured the odds of them realasing a 6.0-only jailbreak weeks (likely) after 6.0.1 came out were slim to none, despite musclenerd recommending staying on 6.0. Now if they were close, I might have stayed put, but 6.0 was pretty buggy so I would have needed more concrete evidence that it was necessary. We'll see, but I'd be very surprised to see a jailbreak for the iPhone 5 that doesn't work on the latest firmware. The last one actually required the latest firmware.
     
    #14
  16. fz1dave

    fz1dave Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read that Tango has problems with freezing up, and that they require you to upload your entire address book for it to work. Any truth to either of these?
     
    #15

Share This Page