Forcing a default WiFi connection.

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by Docd, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. Docd

    Docd Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    67
    I have 2.4 and 5 ghz connection on my router but my iPhone 5 default to the 2.4 and I have to manually switch it to the 5 ghz. Anyway to force to to go use the 5. Part of my house doesn't get the 5 so forgetting the 2.4 is not an option. I just want to set a priority level.
     
  2. showguy

    showguy Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    15
    I keep mine on 2.4. The iPhone seems to have a problem with the 5. Mine keeps bouncing back to 2.4.
     
  3. Docd

    Docd Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Likes Received:
    67
    It works fine with the 5 I just think it has to do with the phone just goes to the first one it has permission with. It needs an option to set priority level, which I can't find.
     
  4. aknightstale41

    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    51
  5. showguy

    showguy Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    15
    I resolved my problem with a new net gear router by making sure the 2.4 and 5gz channel were on totally different ssid. Now I have both channels working fine on iPhone and iPad. You may want to tell your devices to forget both connections and start over again.
     
  6. aknightstale41

    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    51
    I did exactly what you did, even tried different channels that are compatible, still my iPhone cant find the 5GHZ.. not sure what im doing wrong here.
     
  7. aknightstale41

    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    51
    Duh...i just realized the 4s dosent support 5ghz...now i want the iPhone 5 lol.
     
  8. showguy

    showguy Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Likes Received:
    15
    Oops sorry. I assumed you had the 5.
     

Share This Page