Graphic designers?

Babyt

Zealot
Gold
May 24, 2010
Heya i was wondering if there were any graphic designers willing to give me a TON of advice on starting out freelancing.. im in my last year of college and figure i can start freelancing on the side
BUT i have no clue about pricing, legal stuff and pretty much everything, because that is the one thing my classes just arent teaching.. and my professors just arent that helpful :(
thanks in advance :D

Michael Baturin

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 11, 2007
South Jersey
I am not a professional graphic designer - but it is something I do as a freelancer along with web-design.
- Example site created by me for a Rutgers University Research Professor:
http://barrlab.rutgers.edu/ (keep in mind this website was updated since I left it years ago)

I have done a lot of websites - usually content and graphic driven - and I can tell you a few things when it comes to pricing/equipment/legals etc.

Pricing
You set the price - don't let the customer tell you what they want to pay. Layout a base fee + an hourly rate which matches your skill and experience level. Obviously over time it will rise with more experience. It's difficult for me to give specifics in dollars because I haven't seen your work, but I can tell you that for a 8-10 page informational website with graphic design, I charge $500 base and $100 an hour past 5 hours - usually resulting in around $1000 - $1500 per website.

Equipment/Software
I've designed on PC's and Macs and while the difference isn't drastic - the software smoothness and precision is better on the macs. I have used iMacs and would recommend them or Mac Pro's. An iPad 2 would be a good investment in the future as you could use it to display your work as a digital portfolio during meetings with perspective clients.