Handbrake error: The CLI is about to read the DVD...

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Headie_Fishing

Bronze
Jul 16, 2007
So I just downloaded and installed the newest and greatest update to HandBrake for PC. I have never used the program before now so this problem is not new to me. I start HandBrake and select the iPhone preset then insert my DVD, browse, find the D: drive, it then tells me "The CLI is about to read the DVD...This process could take up to a minute." After some time (it varies from a matter of seconds to over a minute) it comes up with the error "No title(s) found. Please make sure you have selected a valid, non-copyright protected source."

I have now tried this with multiple DVD's including 300, Curb Your Enthusiasm (Season 3), and Dumb & Dumber, but I keep getting this error. The fact that some of these DVD's are older hints to me that the problem is not in copyright protection but something else.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

The problem is the encryption on the disks. Google a program called "Dvd43" and install it. It's a tiny program that runs at startup and decrypts the DVD as soon as you put it in the drive! :)

Once I installed it, I've not had a problem since.

On a related note, there's a few Handbrake settings that I have come across that work for me without fail.

1) Pick the "iPhone" setting and change the following:

a) change to MPEG4
b) select "auto crop"
c) uncheck the chapter markers box

I leave everything else the way it is and get good quality videos at reasonable sizes.

Enjoy! :)

Found the program at: http://www.dvd43.com

Headie_Fishing

Bronze
Jul 16, 2007
Woofus, thanks for the info on decrypting the DVDs.