Handbrake help

Discussion in 'DVD to iPhone, iPad and iPod touch' started by fsas06, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. fsas06

    fsas06 Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok, im not on a mac, and all the help i find has directions for a mac pc...so if someone could help me with the setting i need, how to get it to the phone...and it says that "no titles found...make sure i have selected a vaild, non-copy protected source" and tells me to go to the faqs

    do i have to rip the dvd to my pc first then use HB or no ?
    please some one help...i don't wana pay for videos again that i have at home if i can get this to work

    thanks
     
  2. termleech

    termleech Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. fsas06

    fsas06 Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes i found that a lil after i posted lol
    but it still says something about being a copy protected disk, or it takes to long to "read" the disk when i selcet the video tc folder :mad:
     
  4. Woofus

    Woofus Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Likes Received:
    17
    Did you go to www.dvd43.com and download/install DVD43?

    Try that...
     
  5. fsas06

    fsas06 Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    thanks, now thats working...once its done and in the file...i just put it in iTunes and then it can go in my phone ?
    and how much space do movies take up ?
     
  6. Woofus

    Woofus Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Likes Received:
    17
    It all depends on the movie, and the quality of the encoding.

    I typically do all of my files in Handbrake using the iPhone preset:

    Then change...

    H.264 (ipod) to MPEG 4
    No Crop to Auto Crop
    Uncheck Chapter Markers box
    leave average bitrate at 960
    Leave everything else as is...

    Most movies will come out with good quality at about a gig or less.

    (Transformers was 1.09 gigs)
     
  7. fsas06

    fsas06 Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Likes Received:
    3
    lol i just put in transformer it was 1.04 gigs for me...so ill just make a cupple movies, and change them out
    thanks i think i got it now
     
  8. adlx21

    adlx21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, I just downloaded handbrake to convert avi files into mp4 for my iPhone 3g. the video shows but the audio is messed up. all i hear is a loud annoying "buzz buzz buzz". does anyone know what Im doing wrong? i used the preset configs on the right (iPhone and ipod touch)..

    any help would be great, thanks!
     
  9. adlx21

    adlx21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone?......
     
  10. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    15
    Use this one for converting movies: XviD4PSP (it's free and working)
     
    #10 Picazzo, Dec 11, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2013
  11. adlx21

    adlx21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    picazzo, thank you very much! the video quality for this program is pretty dang good :)
    AND audio works!
    thanks again!
     
  12. Picazzo

    Picazzo Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    15
    You're welcome...:)
     
  13. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,437
    I've been using this for some time, and It's a great app for video conversion. You can also adjust the video's audio volume, which is very handy when putting videos on your iPhone.
     
    #13 Napoleon PhoneApart, Dec 12, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2013
  14. Gloffen

    Gloffen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you want to convert files to your iPhone/iPod Touch I highly recommend iSquint.

    Handbrake, isn't that a DVD ripper?
     
  15. soccerphysio

    soccerphysio Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried my first attempt at handbrake. I have the icon for the MP4 file on my desktop. However, when I try to drag it into iTunes, nothing happens.

    What did I do wrong?!
     
  16. soccerphysio

    soccerphysio Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    It appears that the problem is that the encoding either froze or paused with 1 second remaining; why would that happen? I started the process approx 9 hours ago on a Core 2 Duo iMac, so it should have completed by now.

    Why would it stop with 1 sec remaining?!
     
  17. llrickman

    llrickman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    26
    What version you running of Handbrake? Im using 0.9.3
    when you select from the menu on the right ( presets )under Apple instead of selecting iPhone select the iPod one then select in the middle two pass encoding , then select turbo first pass.

    This shouldnt take more than an hour or hour n a half to complete .
    I put 21 on my in under an hour
     
  18. soccerphysio

    soccerphysio Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I decided to delete what was saved, and downloaded the newer version of Handbrake (9.3); it worked like a charm. The key is having VLC running as well. I found a couple of video clips on YouTube that did a great job of walking me through each step. I would post the link, but not sure if that is allowed per forum rules.

    I can't believe how simple it was...and the quality of the movies are phenomenal!
     
  19. JessRuss

    JessRuss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded handbrake for windows. I wanted to do Titanic. I selected it in 'source' and select the preselect 'ipod', and forgot to put the name of the chapters in. I pressed begin and it came up that the ETA was like 7 hours. About an hour in, i realised about the chapters. I minimised the little black window and put the names in. There is nothing to press to enter them so i paused it and then restarted it. The ETD restarted it's self and the started going up, then down the up and it ended up being like 9 hours. I left the computer on at night to let it do its thing. I came back in the morning. It still had a few minutes to go then it was done. I bought up iTunes and imported it but when i went to play it. I was just colour ful squares - bright pink, green, black, grey, loads- and it skipped and moved the squares. It didn't work at all!
    What on earth went wrong?! Some one help me!
     
  20. llrickman

    llrickman Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    26
    Im not sure if the one for widows operates the same as the one for Mac. but again what i do is select from the presets ipod not iPhone. then click 2 pass encoding and turbo first pass if you don't do this it will come out choppy

    Also when u begin select your source and choose the one that is longest running time. use as directed above and on a movie like titanic it should take much more than an hour to encode and be ready to be synced to your iPhone
     

Share This Page