Handoff?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RicK james, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. RicK james

    RicK james Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    Anyone have trouble with handoff? I have this mac i just bought and it is running 10.10.4. I have the 6plus running updated software and I have cloud on. I go through the paring process of the two and get the code then it suddenly says "This iMac is not supported"

    how is that?
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    What year is your iMac?
     
  3. RicK james

    RicK james Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    I assume a new version? I just received it this week. Brand new no refurb etc. no big deal I just thought i wouldn't try it but no success
     
  4. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    It could be an older version of the iMac. Mine was that I got in July.
     
  5. RicK james

    RicK james Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    Strange. Ok
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Handoff works on the 2012 models and later. Here are directions for finding the year.
     
  7. RicK james

    RicK james Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    It shows mid 2014. It should work but says its not supported?
     
  8. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I'm reading you need Bluetooth 4.0. If all is good, are you signed into the same icloud account on both devices?
     
  9. RicK james

    RicK james Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    17
    Well it sees the iPhone 6 immediately but when I connect I get the error
     

Share This Page