Have you used Apple Pay?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by iprncess, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. iprncess

    iprncess Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Likes Received:
    21
    I used it for the first time tonight to get my son ice cream from McDonalds. It was kinda funny because when the receipt printed the cashier said "Wait, what did you do? How did you do that?" A. She didn't even know they had the capability (same on them) and B. It was so fast she totally missed it.

    I can see me using this daily and stores who don't get on the NFC train are going to get left in the dust. Can't count how many times I've rushed out the house without my purse (Did it last Friday) BUT I always have the cellphone.
     
  2. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    299
    Can somebody explain how Apple Pay works? iDumb so need help understanding.

    It's an app right? Do you enter your Apple ID into it?
     
  3. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    199
    It's in the Passbook App..

    You can also access it via Settings ---> Passbook & Apple Pay
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  4. up10ad

    up10ad Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Likes Received:
    454
    After setup you don't need the app to use it. Just move your locked phone near the payment terminal and it picks up the purchase transaction. Use your TouchID to confirm the purchase.


    Rick
    Pardon my driving, I'm not texting, I'm reloading
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  5. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    299
    So it sounds like even I can do it. :cool:
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • List
  6. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    199
    It's really simple to add a card.. You either enter it manually or click on the camera icon you will see and line your card up in the box.. Once it's recognized, it adds the card..
     
  7. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    People say the camera will detect all of the information but that's false. It only adds the card number.
     
  8. iprncess

    iprncess Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Likes Received:
    21
    Mine added everything for all but one of my cards. I think it depends on the way the expiration date is listed.
     
  9. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    Hmm...only the card number got added for my bank of America and capital one.
     
  10. raqball

    raqball Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Likes Received:
    199
    Mine added everything except the 3 digit security code.. I only tried my debt card and it was rejected because my bank is not supported..
     
  11. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I'm going to see if I can use it today at McDonald's drive through but I won't if I have to hand person my phone.
     
  12. iprncess

    iprncess Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well it needs your thumb print so you couldn't hand it to them anyway.
     
  13. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I read on here somewhere that someone had to hand phone to them to be able to scan in drive through.
     
  14. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,442
    And how does the clerk/cashier use it without a valid fingerprint?
     
  15. silvermoon

    silvermoon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    179
    The only part I had to add was the CVV on my card. Camera took care of the rest. Now if only my bank would support Apple Pay... BECU.
     
  16. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I just went to McDonald's through the drive through and they wouldn't have a way to do it yet as she had to lift the scanner to let me try it. She didn't have a clue what I was even talking about but the lady at the next window did. She said it's possible inside but they are trying to make it possible through the drive through.
     
  17. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    299
    Starbucks always has those scanners on a cord that they hold up for you. :confused:
     
  18. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    I had a feeling Mcdonalds for now would only be inside. She tried from the window but had to force the scanner to window lol.
     
  19. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    Yep so easy even a gaveman can do it:)
     
  20. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    299
    Well then on second thought I may have an issue! :D
     

Share This Page