Help new iPhone owner please

53AN

Dec 9, 2008
hello all I am new to the iPhone I just bought the 8gig 3g yesterday and love it it is awesome. but I am having problems getting it to hook into my iTunes. ok first off I had an old versoin of iTunes and through google I found out I needed to download a newer version so.... I downloaded iTunes version 8.x.x.x (whatever the new one is) and deleted my old iTunes off my computer. then I installed the new iTunes and it wouldn't open I kept getting an error message so I did more searching and found that I needed to do the regedit and erase all my iTunes (not the songs) and quicktime did that uninstalled quick time and every thing then I realized I need quick time to run iTunes (that is just what I thought no one told me) so I downloaded the new version of qicktime installed that the iTunes finally worked (woohoo!) now when I hook up my iPhone it does recognize it but it says

"This iPhone cannot be used because the required software is not installed. Run iTunes installer to remove iTunes ,then install iTunes again"

now I have done that several times and also did the same with quicktime but it still says the same thing and I have searched all over the place and found no one with the same problem. do I need to install safari? because I don't have any type of safari

also I am using a pc running windows xp with the 2nd pack or whatever it is called idk.

I would appreciate some help from you guys thanks for reading

one more thing I have done all this with a 56k connect that moves at more like 3k it took me 4 hours to download iTunes and 2hours to download quicktime

ihack

Bronze
Nov 7, 2008
Orange Park, FL
From my experience. I had to go the Apple site. It has instictions on how to delete everything that is installed with iTunes. I had to delete and uninstall a bunch of crap. Afterwords was all good.

Swagger

Gold
Jul 9, 2007
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
web.me.com