Help on Baseband/JBing :(

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by iphoneCrazy, Apr 6, 2012.

1. iphoneCrazy

iphoneCrazy New Member

Sorry if its a repost... Guyz..I am totally new to JBing (new to this site as well )....but this baseband issue is really confusing me and scaring me from JBing my iPhone 4. I have few queries. IF you experts can help me out..really appreciate it

1> I have an iPhone4 its a Factory Unlocked phone. (i am assuming it so, because I bought it as a factory unlocked, and I have updated it multiple times via iTunes, I even three diff. sims into the phone it worked fine), Also, there is no sign of any Cydia or JB related stuff inside the phone. IS there anything else to confirm its a FU phone? Model: MC603HN

2> Now I was looking for JBing tools and help all over the net and found this site helpful, but as I mentioned I have no idea about wat and how a baseband effects my phone by updating via iTunes or JBing..some queries on BAseband:

a> What is it exactly?
    b> How does it change (as in how does it update to some version, 4.Xx.xx or watever etc etc.. is it through each OS /Delta update from Apple ? )
    c> Each and every phone is having a diff. baseband (as per info on the net, wat does tat mean?)
    d> So if my iPhone is FU and if JB using say redsn0w, will my baseband update ?
    d.1> - if my baseband updates on JBing , does it update to some dev. made firmware update or an official Apple update?
    d.2> - After update and JBing, say in the future if I want to come back to stock OS, and I happen to update via iTunes (losing JB), will my baseband change back to the Apple's baseband or will it fail and if it fails, wat will happen to my phone?
    e> I have been advised by many to PRESERVE BASEBAND using redSnOw and go ahead. So wat will be the case for d.2> (above query) now?

btw my baseband now is: 4 12 1